Warzaw – Werewolves On Wheels

Werewolves On Wheels
January 29, 2021

Right at the beginning of the new year, a new band speaks up. Warzaw from Trondheim in Norway. Founded in 2020 from members of Shotgun Rodeo, Pelagic and Blånæggel. All three established bands from the capital of the Norwegian province Trøndelag. So if you want to know more about the individual musicians, read up on the bands mentioned. The debut album “Werewolves On Wheels” was recorded and mastered in the studios Lair Shrediablo and Nubdal, in the period June / July 2020. There is nothing more to be found, except that the quartet plays heavy metal.

The cover looks like a failed, cheesy movie poster for “Easy Rider”. There is nothing to be seen of werewolves. At least the title song picks up speed right from the start. However, the sound sounds a little thin. Ok, the riffs can be heard all the time, and one or two well-made guitar solos can be heard. But all in all, a little too well-behaved. Then “The Second Banana” offers a little improvement. It becomes clear that Norwegian hard rock is enriched with alternative rock. But gradually the musicians improve. “Adieu” is a little more punchy. “Dragging Knuckles” is the longest song on the album, although at 4:40 it has an unusually short playing time. Here Warzaw go a little faster. The hymn “Midas Touch” is one of the best songs on the album for me. Mainly because it stands out from the rest of the uniformity. “Swamplands” should also receive a positive mention. Although made according to the same knitting pattern as most of the other songs, the musicians vary a little with tempo and melody. You can sing along to the refrain after just a few runs.

All in all, the author finds himself in a rollercoaster of emotions. The musicians definitely have potential. Unfortunately, they rarely access this. Some good riffs and hooks can be heard. However, the songs often sound the same. Despite the total playing time of only thirty-eight minutes and songs that, with one exception, are shorter than four minutes, the album is stretching out. Technically, the quartet can be said to be more than solid, but Warzaw still has to work on the song writing. Thus “Werewolves On Wheels” is a little more than an average album. There is still a lot of room for improvement.

Warzaw – Spitfire (Official Music Video): https://youtu.be/7LlrJhxxXXA


Daniel Rønning – Lead Vocals
Håvard Alvarez – Lead, Rhythm Guitars, Backing Vocals
Trond Jullumstrø – Lead, Rhythm Guitars, Bass, Backing Vocals
Mats Sødahl – Drums, Backing Vocals

Track list:

  • Werewolves On Wheels
  • The Second Banana
  • Adieu
  • Dragging Knuckles
  • Midas Touch
  • Burner
  • Spitfire
  • Deathwaves
  • Swamplands
  • Mind Eraser
  • Switchblade Renegade
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 6/10
    Cover Art - 6/10
  • 7/10
    Song Writing - 7/10