In Memory Of Shmoulik Avigal | Interview With Gwen Avigal & Mark

In 1999 the late Shmoulik Avigal had released with the guitarist Dani Shetrit a demo of 12 songs entitled “Mindless Creatures”. They named the band Moonrock and had a style between Metal Church and Black Sabbath (Martin era). The demo was never officially released, but Classic Metal Records will undertake to re-release it relatively soon

This demo features vocalist Shmoulik Avigal who created a name for himself in Holland, releasing albums with “Picture” and “Horizon”. In 1985 he moved to New York to join a new lineup of “The Rods”. Dani Shetrit at the same time went to study at “Berklee College of Music” in Boston for two years. In 1986 he went back to England to join the irish metal band “Blackwych”. In 1988 he moved to New York city and started his own band “Paganmoon”.

Once in New York, destiny united them and “Moonrock” began. To compliment the line up, New York city legend bass player Eric Klaastad of Squadran (US) was recruited together with Dennis Monroe on drums and Kenn Distin on Keyboards. By the end of 1998 the band went into the Heatwave studios and recorded this 12 songs demo.

It was a great pleasure to talk too Gwen Avigal and Mark to talk about this absolutely amazing work of Shmoulik Avigal and Dani Shetrit on Moon Rock.

  1. The Shaman Song
  2. Mindless Creatures
  3. Sins of the Father
  4. The Master
  5. Hell and Back
  6. Feels Like Home
  7. Terror
  8. My Own Man
  9. Screaming Out
  10. Believe It’s Yours
  11. Rebel Heart
  12. Jeckyl and Hyde

On Socials

Facebook – Classic Metal Records