Interview With German Medieval Folk Rockers “Feuerschwanz”

The sinful cover album by FEUERSCHWANZ – feat. “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!” (ABBA Cover), “Warriors Of The World United” (MANOWAR Cover) and more!

Raise your horns to the newest FEUERSCHWANZ album! Following their most recent, successful #1 charting album, Memento Mori, German medieval folk rockers FEUERSCHWANZ are back with more mischief and a surprise for their fans in the form of a splendid cover album, entitled Todsünden,released via Napalm Records on December 30, 2022. Although selected tracks on the album were previously released as part of the Memento Mori and Das Elfte Gebot bonus albums, the medieval rockers decided to give them some extra attention! On this album, the band embarks on a versatile sonic journey through different fields, languages and genres. From pop to punk rock to metal bangers, FEUERSCHWANZ manage effortlessly combine different genres and give each and every song its very own interpretation without losing their original trademarks.

This exciting ride starts off with a cover of Swedish pop legends AbbaFEUERSCHWANZ give their world famous song “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!” a folk rock vibe with a gloomy but still uplifting atmosphere bursting into heavy riffing and drumming. Another pop-tinged rock song of legend is covered with Europe‘s “The Final Countdown”, but the album also features current highlights like “Blinding Lights“, Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” and “Ding” by Seed featuring Ad Infinitum’s Melissa Bonny. Punk rock tracks like “The Bad Touch” by the glorious Bloodhound Gang or tracks by German bands like “Hier kommt Alex” by Die Toten Hosen or “Der Graf” by Die Ärzte – a track that FEUERSCHWANZ honor with their very own trademark by telling ancient tales in their own fabulous way. Similar treatment is given to “Engel” by German legends Rammstein, as FEUERSCHWANZ pick up the story and dress it in their own folkloristic gloomy sound, while in its new version, former European summer hit “Dragoesta Din Tei” throws the listener directly into a wild Viking party, releasing medieval power that will have them out of their seat in no time. In honor of the metal scene, FEUERSCHWANZ present their very own version of Amon Amarth’s “Twilight of the Thunder God” but give it a new spin by turning it into a medieval hymn with 80s rock vibes. Other famous tracks include covers of Ghost’s “Square Hammer”, a turn at Powerwolf‘s “Amen and Attack” pumped with chanting violins, Sabaton’s “Gott Mit Uns”, and the all time classic “Warriors of the World” by the one and only Manowar, which they persent together with honorable guests as Angus McSixSaltatio Mortis and Melissa Bonny.

Genre exploration and loads of fun aside, amidst it all, FEUERSCHWANZ clearly showcase their musical skills and development, convincing with ultra-elaborate sound. In particular, vocalists Hauptmann and Hodi flex their deft skillset, from skyscraper 80s-style falsettos to deep growling and even rapping (as evident on their cover of Deichkind’s “Limit”). So jump on board this thrilling musical ride and witness FEUERSCHWANZ conquering a kaleidoscope of musical styles with ease!

It was a great pleasure to have Feuerschwanz to talk on the new album “Todsünden” and much more of the future, Check out the complete coverage on the below YouTube video.

1             Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (ABBA Cover)
2             Twilight of the Thunder God (Amon Amarth Cover)
3             The Bad Touch (Bloodhound Gang Cover)
4             Limit (Deichkind Cover)
5             Der Graf (Die Ärzte Cover)
6             Hier kommt Alex (Die Toten Hosen Cover)
7             I See Fire (Ed Sheeran Cover)
8             Square Hammer (Ghost Cover)
9             Warriors of the World United (Manowar Cover)
10           Dragostea Din Tei (O-Zone Cover)
11           Amen & Attack (Powerwolf Cover)
12           Engel (Rammstein Cover)
13           Gott Mit Uns (Sabaton Cover)
14           Ding (Seeed Cover)
15           Blinding Lights (The Weeknd Cover)
16           The Final Countdown (Europe Cover)

Music Videos

The Band

Hauptmann – Gesang, Akustikgitarre, Irish Bouzouki
Hodi – Gesang, Dudelsack, Akustikgitarre, Irish Bouzouki, Geyerleier, Schalmei, Tinwhistle, Rennaisance-Laute, Mandoline, Uilean Pipe
Johanna – Geige, Drehleier
Hans – E-Gitarre, Akustikgitarre
Rollo – Schlagzeug
Jarne – Bass, Gesang
Myu – Tanz & Performance
Musch Musch – Tanz & Performance

Feuerschwanz On Socials