Interview With Ioannis of “Sands Of Eternity”

Sands Of Eternity are an evolution of Hourglass Sands Of Eternity, most commonly known as Hourglass SOE, that were originally formed in Athens – Greece back in 1996. Hourglass SOE after two demos released their first – and last – album (“Journey To Infinity” – 2002) and afterwards broke apart. 

Nevertheless the guitarist and main composer Ioannis Ioakimides continued to write heavy / power songs in the following years until enough material was accumulated capable of covering the ground for a new album. 

Alongside, some seeking around of Hourglass SOE traces on the web that brought back memories and some impressive results in the likes of the album of the band being sold for more than 600$ online as well as a thread in a forum speaking for the band with warm words, led Ioannis Ioakimides to seek ways to record his new material. Thus Sands Of Eternity were born from the ashes of Hourglass SOE and along with singer Michael “Dice” Papadakis and producer Bob Katsionis, Ioannis Ioakimides set forth to record the new album consisting of 10 new songs, keeping the spirit of true heavy /power of the former band but also evolving in terms of sound, lyrics, musical compositions and aesthetics. 

The end result is the debut album of Sands Of Eternity, “Beyond The Realms Of Time” which is finally a finished work! 

It was a pleasure to have Ioannis Ioakimides for a chat to talk about the album and much more. Check out the complete interview on the YouTube video below.

Music Videos


  1. Still Awake
  2. Enlightened (Mighty Warrior)
  3. The Hitman
  4. Faded
  5. Red Flag
  6. Desire
  7. Shadows Of Light
  8. A Different Way
  9. So Far Away (A Soldier’s Cry)
  10. Beyond The Limits

The Band

Ioannis Ioakimides: Guitars 
Michael “Dice” Papadakis: Vocals 
Thanassis Skoutelis: Bass 
Vangelis Kalentzis: Keyboards 
Michael Skoutelis: Drums 
Kostas Nanos: Guitars 

On Socials