Interview With The Legendary Gary Moat Of “Burnt Out Wreck”

Gary created BURNT OUT WRECK in the summer of 2016. After penning songs for the debut album, he ventured into the studio under the watchful eye of Steve Rispin (Asia), and with Gary’s determination to create good time classic rock, the album ‘Swallow’ took shape and was released in early 2017. After plenty of promotion and hard work touring the UK, the band returned to the studio to record the follow up, ‘This Is Hell’a fierce, hard rocking album with a heavy punch and one that sees the band take a big leap forward.

Burnt Out Wreck, fronted by and featuring Gary Moat, are as musically unpretentious and outstanding a band as they are an old-school, classic guitar-rock outfit.

Frontman and songwriter Gary Moat, now more than three decades removed from the original Heavy Pettin, is still proving Rock Ain’t Dead, but on very much his own terms – uncompromising riff-led rock that takes the essence of AC/DC and adds sonic swagger and raucous roll in equal measure.

That Burnt Out Wreck sound can be heard to fine effect on debut album Swallow and sophomore release This is Hell, a slightly darker affair that carried both lyrical wit and weighty, guitar-led grit.

The last five years have also seen well-received festival appearances (including a WinterStorm set that elicited an audience response of “one more song!” at set’s end), supporting the likes of Anvil, a clutch of headline shows and a return invite to BonFest, all of which have started to pay dividends for Gary Moat, Alex Carmichael (bass), Paul Gray (drums) and new guitarist Richard Upson (guitarist Andy McLaughlin will also be part of the band for live work).

Burnt Out Wreck will release their third album later in 2022.

It was my pleasure to have the legend Gary on an Interview, Check out the awesome Interview on the YouTube video below.

Track listing for ‘This Is Hell’:

  1. Dead or Alive
  2. Positive
  3. Paddywack
  4. Headfuck
  5. Guitars Electrified
  6. This Is Hell
  7. Rock Hard Sticky Sweet 8. Just A Dog
  8. Snow Falls Down

The Band

Gary Moat/Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar. Alex Carmichael/Bass.
Paul Gray/Drums.
Richard Upson/Guitar, backing vocals.
Andrew McLaughlan/Guitar, backing Vocals.

On Socials