CAPTAIN BLACK BEARD release “Wasted Heart” video and digital single

Swedish disco AOR heroes CAPTAIN BLACK BEARD are warming their engines up for a new studio album (“Neon Sunrise”, out on October 7th) and, while we wait for it, here’s another teaser of the record.

“Wasted Heart” shows exactly why the quintet is potentially the next big thing in the hard rock/AOR scene. Melodic fireworks, anthem chorus, and some dream harmonies. On the third single taken from “Neon Sunrise”, Captain Black Beard is still going strong.

“Wasted Heart” is out now in digital single and official video. Check out the video in the link below.

It’s cyclical. Every now and then since the 80s, AOR as a music genre has a big explosion of popularity and new bands, then gets a bit worn out by the excess of players in the scene, and then it comes back again, bigger than ever. 

In the downtimes, however, there are new bands that stand out and help carrying the style, presenting it to new generations and bringing a fresh take to it. Captain Black Beard is clearly one of these bands. Like their Swedish countrymen The Night Flight Orchestra, the five-piece grew up with the classic sound of bands such as Journey and Foreigner, but found a way to take a renew approach to it, own the AOR sound in such a bossy way that it draws the attention of a whole new generation of fans. 

The development of Captain Black Beard’s sound over the last ten years and several albums and singles releases made the tag “disco AOR” stick to them, as a way to describe the incredible catchy and all-round composition and sound they achieved. The ultimate expression of this “disco AOR” sound is the new Captain Black Beard album, “Neon Sunrise”, to be released this Fall via Mighty Music. Groovy drums, melodic guitars, lots of keyboards and Martin’s powerful voice to top it off will make your love for AOR – old or new – boil once again in your blood. 

“Neon Sunrise” will be released on digital, CD, and LP (transparent magenta vinyl, limited to 300 units) via Mighty Music on October 7th, 2022.

Christian Ek – guitar
Martin Holsner – vocals
Daniel Krakowski – guitar
Robert Majd – bass
Yngve Strömberg – drums

Digital single:


Official site

“Neon Sunrise” tracklist:
1. Flamenco
2. We’re The Forgiven
3. Physical
4. Moment Of Truth
5. Wasted Heart
6. Night Reaction
7. Chains Of Love
8. Burning Daylight
9. Break (Into Forever)
10. Invincible
11. State Of Denial
12. Neon Sunrise