COUNTLESS SKIES Premieres Forthcoming Album ‘Resonance’

UK-based melodic death metal band COUNTLESS SKIES has partnered with Invisible Oranges for the premiere of forthcoming album Resonance. Stream the album in its entirety at the link below!

Resonance consists of a selection of tracks from the band’s first two albums, performed live from the studio with cellist Arianna Mahsayeh (who also appeared on Glow). Willowtip Records will release the album on Digipak, vinyl LP, and digital formats on May 5.



“’Resonance’ is one killer and unique live studio recording of highly epic songs, brilliantly executed and perfectly enhanced.” (98/100)

– Infernal Masquerade

“It’s a really cool idea, bringing to these tracks a great ‘live from the studio’ verve, but also expanding on their core ideas with new melodies and sounds from the cello. The end result is quite beautiful.”

– Heavy Blog is Heavy

“Loud and epic but also mournful and unique, this take on their debut records will be satisfying to fans of melodic, heavy music that pushes boundaries.”

– Invisible Oranges

“There are few live albums that are capable of doing what ‘Resonance’ does and Countless Skies deserve a standing ovation for having the vision to put this together.” (9/10)

– Metal Noise

“Countless Skies is listed as Melodic Death Metal, but they are so much more. When they take their trips through Progressive and Power Metal and add in the cello, they beef up their soundscape, allowing them to keep adding more nuance to the compositions.” (9/10)

– Metal Zenith

“It is breathtaking how seamlessly these arrangements fit into the songs, sounding like they have always been there. Countless Skies are one of the most impressive UK metal bands to emerge in recent years.”

– The Razors Edge

“A comprehensive and well-presented cross-section of their career so far.”


Consisting of selections originally recorded for New Dawn and Glow, the band writes that:

“Each track has unique parts written specifically for the cello, adding extra melodies and layers that help the songs to reach new heights. After playing several shows and festival slots across the country, and in preparation for our set at MetalDays 2022, we decided to capture the sound we’d created with Arianna by recording a live set at Gusto Studios in Luton, Bedfordshire.

Track Listing:

  1. Daybreak (4:20)
  2. Summit (6:01)
  3. Glow (20:15)
  4. Wanderer (5:47)
  5. Tempest (5:10)


All music and vocals recorded by Greg Niedzwiecki at Gusto Studios
Mixed and Mastered by Juho Räihä at SoundSpiral Audio
Artwork by Carl Ellis