DESOLATE SHRINE Streaming New Song “Cast to Walk the Star of Sorrow”

Finnish death metal trio DESOLATE SHRINE have unleashed another track off their forthcoming new album, Fires of the Dying World. Decibel Magazine is hosting the exclusive premiere of album track “Cast To Walk The Star Of Sorrow.”

The band comments on the song, “‘Cast to Walk the Star of Sorrow’ encapsulates the more chaotic and fiery side of the band. A relentless attack that has still a surprise element to it. A perfect song to kick off Side B in vinyl terms. The lyrics are inspired by a portrayal of life by late Finnish writer and mystic P. Ervast in one of his works. Life – a continuously deteriorating experience where in the end, immortality reaches through it and bleeds beyond death as well.”

Stream “Cast To Walk The Star Of Sorrow” now at this location.

Dark Descent Records will release Fires of the Dying World on CD, cassette, and digital formats on March 25. Vinyl treatment coming later this year.

Pre-order Fires of the Dying World at

At long last, the successor to 2017’s Deliverance from the Godless Void has been unconfined from the clandestine vaults of Dark Descent Records. Aptly titled Fires of the Dying World, Finland’s DESOLATE SHRINE delivers 46 minutes of their unique death metal possession. The masterful craftsmanship on DESOLATE SHRINE’s fifth album is unmistakable; a true portrait of a band at their absolute peak.

Yet be forewarned before indulging from the poison chalice of Fires of the Dying World for it ensnares its victims in an inescapable maelstrom of death and futility. Absolute surrender is the recommended response, as you descend into a claustrophobic trance that erases the world around and reaches into your very soul. When you awaken… nothing will be quite the same again… Let the fires burn.


  1. Intro
  2. Echoes in the Halls of Vanity
  3. The Dying World
  4. The Silent God
  5. Cast to Walk the Star of Sorrow
  6. My Undivided Blood
  7. The Furnace of Hope

RS – Vocals
MT – Vocals
LL – All Instruments