Dreams in Peril Mephobia CD Review

Dreams in Peril’s Mephobia CD Review


I’ve been waiting for this album for a while now, and I am NOT disappointed by any means. Dreams in Peril’s Mephobia is hard-hitting and intense from beginning to end. When talking to Dalton Collins (bass) about the album he had the following to say: “The album is a metaphor about us and who we are and what we have faced as people and musicians. The album is about overcoming your failures and moving forward.” And as you listen to the album you really do understand that what he’s saying is exactly the case. Dalton says, “’Neckties and Nostalgia’” is basically about us overcoming our failures. ‘So try and outlast me, impromptu de ja vu… Ascend, survey the land, it crumbles in my hand’.” The rest of the album continues their message.

Track list:

  1. Villainry
  2. Placebo
  3. Seldom Solace
  4. Make Your Martyr
  5. Porcelain (instrumental)
  6. Neckties and Nostalgia
  7. Mephobia
  8. Makeshift Motives


The whole album is really good, but there are some definite highlights for me. First of all, I really like the opening track, “Villianry”. It’s short and sweet, but powerful right away. “Placebo” and “Seldom Solace” are also really good, but “Make Your Martyr” seems to really start to kick it up a notch. “Make your martyr or be made example, laid to rest and then left afoot to trample”—these are the opening lyrics to “Make Your Martyr” and this one really leaves a mark! After a brief instrumental, “Neckties and Nostalgia” hits your ears and I assure you that you cannot listen to this one even for the first time without instinctively banging your head. Then it’s onto “Mephobia” and “Makeshift Motives”. I have probably listened to “Makeshift Motives” about 20 times in the two days I’ve have this CD in my possession. I’d just like to go ahead and say that it is my favorite of the album, and that Jeff (drummer) is an absolute beast and they all go HARD on this song! They are all very talented musicians who are passionate about what they’re playing and giving to the audience (I saw them for myself last year in June at Aftershock and in case you missed my review on their live performance, THEY WERE AWESOME).

The official release date for Mephobia is March 15th, and if you live in their area you can see them live that night at Aftershock in Merriam, KS at 7:00 p.m. They’ll be playing with The Browning, Betraying the Martyrs, Extortionist, and In the Shadow. Be sure to check out their YouTube and Bandcamp pages, and check them out on Instagram and Facebook as well!

Left to right: Jeff, drums; Dalton, bass; Josh, guitar; Demetri, vocals

YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCYlEn-y95t8lnZ-h7SzXtoA

Instagram: www.instagram.com/dreamsinperil

Facebook: www.facebook.com/dreamsinperil

Bandcamp: www.dreamsinperil.bandcamp.com

I would personally like to say thank you to the guys in the band for making me a part of their family and for including me and Metalheads Forever Magazine in their “thank you” in the cover notes. It was an honor to see that! I’m so glad I got to drive out last year and see you guys live– it was an awesome trip and definitely worth it! Cheers to the future! I know you’re going to do great things!