GARY RICHRATH in the Studio Recording with Michael Jahnz from RICHRATH PROJECT 3:13

RICHRATH PROJECT 3:13 just released a video clip of the late Gary Richrath in the studio with Michael Jahnz working on the song “Help Me Save Me From Myself” from the recently released album ‘L.A. Is Mine’. This is where it all began… Gary Richrath bringing the song “Help Me Save Me From Myself” to Michael Jahnz and it shows Gary teaching it to him and them working on it together.

You can watch the video at

Listen and purchase ‘L.A. IS MINE’:

‘L.A. Is Mine’ features tracks with and without Gary Richrath (they are some of the only remaining, never before heard tracks, written and performed by Gary). It will include 5 new originals, 3 new Gary Richrath songs with him on guitar, and re-recorded versions of “Ridin’ the Storm Out” and “Son of A Poor Man” as bonus tracks.

Gary RIchrath was a principal songwriter on the majority of REO’s classic records, and was well known for his unforgettable stage presence. Simply put, Richrath Project 3:13 is a version of REO Speedwagon in their early years – when they rocked harder and weren’t so “ballad-based.”

RICHRATH PROJECT 3:13, takes you back to the beginnings of REO SPEEDWAGON, and tells the story of GARY RICHRATH via his music up to his passing and beyond – over the course of a two hour performance including a multimedia show that documents Gary and Michael’s history. The show also includes some of Michael’s awesome new original songs performed by the newest version of Richrath Project 3:13 with a group of very talented musicians, including Dennis Pockets on lead guitar, Scott Weber on keyboards, Doug Janssen on bass and Andy Crownover on drums.

The band’s singer/guitarist, MICHAEL JAHNZ, explains the song’s creation. “Written by Gary Richrath, I added my own personality to the song in the arrangement. This is a song that Gary and I worked on and ultimately recorded demos of, in my studio here in the Milwaukee area. My current sound engineer was able to isolate Gary’s guitar tracks from our demos all those years ago and my current band rounded out the recording of ‘Help Me Save Me from Myself.’ With myself singing lead and Gary’s original background vocals added from our demo, I added many different harmonies with my new background vocals to really give it a great sound, the results of which I’m really proud of.”

Gary never really told me the story behind his lyrics. Many can speculate. For me, the song can portray anyone who feels their demons, whatever they may be, drinking, drugs, depression, overeating, gambling, are something they need saving from. The person, is reaching out for someone to hold them, care about them and save them from the things that are out of control in their lives. The video however starts off with a sad, desperate, even angry kind of mood, working through trying to get rid of their vices and ultimately coming out the other side with friendship, family, hugs and love. The bright light at the end of the tunnel. The creativity and the amazing visual locations provided the perfect backdrop for this video. I think it serves as a powerful message for people struggling with all sorts of issues and emotions. I truly hope it’ll strike a chord with people and give them a sense of hope.”

‘L.A. Is Mine’ Tracklisting

  1. Never Give Up (Jahnz)
  2. Help Me Save Me from Myself (Richrath/ Jahnz)
  3. Heard It on the Radio (Pockets/ Jahnz)
  4. L.A. Is Mine (Richrath/ Jahnz)
  5. Shoot One for Free (Jahnz)
  6. Son of a Poor Man (Richrath)
  7. Let Me Love Again (Jahnz)
  8. These Nights (Richrath/ Jahnz)
  9. Tears of My Pain (Jahnz)
  10. Ridin’ the Storm Out (Richrath)

Michael Jahnz – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Dennis Pockets – Lead Guitar
Doug Janssen – Bass
Scott Weber – Keyboards
Andy Crownover – Drums