HEIDRA: new album “To Hell Or Kingdom Come” Out

Photo by Jannie Ravn Madsen

2020 will be forever remembered as the year of the Covid-19 pandemic. However, as most actual band activities had been stopped in their tracks, Heidra began working on their third studio album, “To Hell or Kingdom Come” – an album that, upon its release today, completes their trilogy of story-driven concept albums, “The Dawn Trilogy”. 

“To Hell Or Kingdom Come” was recorded in Italy and Denmark in July and August of 2021 and like “The Blackening Tide”, was produced by Marco Mastrobuono. To play the drums, the band enlisted the help of Francesco Paoli (of Fleshgod Apocalypse fame) whose stellar drumming provided the backbone of “To Hell or Kingdom Come”. 

This new album takes Heidra in a more aggressive direction, drawing inspiration from classic melodic death metal, while at the same time having the band’s melodies and clean singing at its core. 

“To Hell Or Kingdom Come” is out today on digital, CD and LP (two colours, each limited to 300 units) via Mighty Music. It can be ordered here.

Heidra is a Copenhagen-based metal band playing a mix of melodic, black, and power metal with folk-themed undertones, powerful choruses, and brutal growls. Heidra has a strong following in the Danish metal scene with an established yet growing fan base and a rich gigging history around the country. 

Heidra was formed in 2006 and has been steadily growing in strength, in song-writing and as a live performing band over the years. Heidra released their debut EP “Sworn to Vengeance” in 2012 which was followed by the band’s first full album “Awaiting Dawn” in 2014. The album was recorded in Andy La Rocque’s (King Diamond) Sonic Train Studios and accompanied by the bands’ first professional video filmed on location at the iconic Møns Klint for the song “The Eyes of Giants”. 

These two critically acclaimed releases pushed Heidra forward and landed the band a series of concerts, including two smaller international tours with bands such as Ektomorf, Infest, and Noctem, a Danish tour and support concerts in Denmark for folk metal giants Korpiklaani. 

In 2016 the band was given a support slot on a full European tour in support of Ensiferum and Fleshgod Apocalypse. This propelled the band, literally and figuratively onto the international stage and opened the door to many new fans and new friendships. 

At the conclusion of the tour work began in earnest to a follow-up album, expanding upon and continuing the epic narrative begun on “Awaiting Dawn”. “The Blackening Tide” was recorded, produced, mixed, and mastered by Marco Mastrobuono in Rome at Kick Recording Studio in 2017, and marked a further evolution in song-writing prowess and metal riffing majesty. 

Following the release of “The Blackening Tide”, Heidra once again set out to conquer Europe, supporting Omnium Gatherum on their European tour in the fall of 2019. 

Morten Bryld – vocals, keys, acoustic guitars
Martin W. Jensen – guitars
Carlos G.R. – guitars
James Atkin – bass, vocals



“To Hell Or Kingdom Come” tracklist:

1. The Beginning And The End
2. Retribution’s Dawn
3. Dusk
4. The Rebirth
5. Wolfborn Rising
6. Fall Of the Fey
7. To Hell Or Kingdom Come
8. Ancient Gates
9. Cloaks And Daggers
10. Two Kings