Hexenklad Posts Album Teaser For “Heathenheart”

Canada’s Hexenklad (ft. members of SIG:AR:TYR, Eclipse Eternal, Pagan Ritual) Summon Pagan Energy Through Upcoming Blackened Folk Metal “Heathenheart”

Posts Album Teaser Video

 “Heathenheart” Out July 23rd

L-R: Michael Grund – Guitar, Andrew Chalmers – Drums, Timothy Voldemars Johnston – Vocals, Matt Collacott – Bass, John Chalmers – Guitar 
Photo by Vikki Kay Photography

Hexenklad (ft. members of SIG:AR:TYR, Eclipse Eternal, Pagan Ritual) comes from the depths of the Canadian forest, wielding a new album “Heathenheart” to be released on CDN Records on July 23rd that is sure to intrigue fans of melodic death and folk metal. The title track will be the first single, and right now you can take a peek at the teaser trailer for the full length.

Album teaser

“Heathenheart” is following up 2017’s “Spirit of the Stone”, which was the first look into the black metal influenced folk band. Since that first release, Hexenklad has updated its lineup and the result is more intensity and rawness in the new music. They explain further in their own words:

“We are extremely proud of this new album “Heathenheart”. It is a perfect representation of all of our varied influences and personalities. From the coldness and rawness found in Black Metal to the uplifting and memorable melodies found in Folk Metal, to the hooks and choruses found in Heavy Metal, this album has everything. It’s heavy, it’s raw, it’s uplifting, it’s honest, it’s uncompromising, it’s unique and it’s varied. Every song is different and yet connected.”

For the creation of this album, Hexenklad emphasized their appreciation for Folk and Black Metal and wrote songs that meant something and garnered an immediate response from them. They work together collaboratively, each member adding their own flair to a song. “Heathenheart” was recorded at Shiver Sound Studios by John Chalmers; mixed at BWC Studios by Greg Dawson; mastered at West West Side Music by Alan Douches and the cover art is done by Darek Zawiązalec of Black Forest Forge.

Hexenklad is suitable for a wide range of headbangers, especially fans of Moonsorrow, Amon Amarth and Ensiferum. 

“Heathenheart” will be released on July 23, 2021 via CDN Records.

Track Listing:
1. Heathenheart (5:02)
2. Cold Beauty of Winter (4:52)
3. Huginn and Muninn (4:14)
4. Dark Moon in Capricorn (5:13)
5. Rootbound (4:13)
6. The Raven Returns to the Knoll (4:33)
7. A Thousand Paths to Wisdom (4:26)
8. Olde Gods Awaken (5:53)
9. Beware the Outstretched Hand (5:21)
10. A Forest of Dead Trees (4:32)
11. Upon the Wings of Valkyries (7:03)
12. A Moment of Silence (1:00)
13. We Raise a Horn (4:07)
Album Length: 1:00:36

Album Credits:
Timothy Voldemars Johnston – Vocals, Lyrics
Michael Grund – Guitar. Bass on songs 4, 7, & 9
John Chalmers – Guitar. Bass on song 13
Andrew Chalmers – Drums & Percussion
Clare B. – Keyboards & Orchestrations  
Emmanuel “Audeath” Audet (Black Empire/Winterfog) – Bass on Songs 2, 5, 8, 10, & 11
Matt “Coldcuts” Collacott – Bass on songs 1, 3, & 6
Nick Sauter – (Treats for Addicts) Guitar Solo on song 7
Alex Chalmers – Clarinet on song 13

All songs by Hexenklad
Song 2 written by Jon Kal and Hexenklad  
Lyrics on songs 4 & 8 by Michael Grund
Recorded at Shiver Sound Studios by John Chalmers
Audeath’s Bass recorded at Black Amp Studio
Mixed at BWC Studios by Greg Dawson
Mastered at West West Side Music by Alan Douches
Cover art by Darek Zawiązalec of Black Forest Forge
CD Layout by Robo of Element 6 Custom lmn6.ca
Photography by Vikki Kay Photography
Canadian Content (MAPL)

Live Band Line Up:
Timothy Voldemars Johnston – Vocals
John Chalmers – Guitar
Steve Bowen – Guitar
Matt “Coldcuts” Collacott – Bass
Andrew Chalmers – Drums

For more info: