L.A. Progressive Death Duo DELPHIAN Release New Lyric Video

Los Angeles (CA) – Progressive Death Metal duo DELPHIAN have released a lyric video for “A Suicide Speech to Persuade,” a track from forthcoming debut album Somnambulant Foregoer. Dive in at youtu.be/rFoDVVmWPGk

Certainly not a pro-suicide song, the lyrics represent a commandant from an ancient god for an old ritual. The band explains: “‘A Suicide Speech to Persuade’ is about the Aztec god, Tezcatlipoca. Each year an “Ixiptla” would be chosen who would be paraded around town and worshipped for the year’s entirety; all extravagances, food, drink, gifts, sexual partners, etc. were to enrich the Ixiptla’s finality. The Ixiptla was then sacrificed to Tezcatlipoca at the Toxcatl festival held in May; laid upon a stone slab, surrounded by four priests with a fifth priest slicing open the Ixiptla and raising its heart up to the sun. The song title, ‘A Suicide Speech to Persuade,’ is seduction from the god, commanding you kill yourself for him.”

DELPHIAN will release Somnambulant Foregoer on November 12.

A lyric video for the album’s first single, “Drip Me Toward The Ground,” is available now at: youtu.be/ZpSqhop-zSo. The single is also on Bandcamp.

DELPHIAN was formed by brothers Jason and Matthew Williams while attending Musicians Institute in Los Angeles, CA. The album features the pummeling talents of Kevin Talley (Suffocation, Dying Fetus) on drums and bass wizardry of Martin Rygiel (Decapitated, Lux Occulta) with Jason Williams and Matthew Williams completing the lineup on guitars and vocals respectively. Mixed and mastered by Chris Collier (CMC21 Productions), Somnambulant Foregoer is a relentless, nine-track, 47-minute attack with themes rooted in darkness, focusing on the evils of reality, blending musical elements of technical death, groove and progressive metal.

DELPHIAN can also be found on screen in the Mike Judge comedy, “Extract,” as the band, God’s Cock.

Track Listing:

  1. A Suicide Speech To Persuade
  2. Devout Magisterial Form
  3. Drip Me Toward The Ground
  4. Speaking With the Shadows
  5. How I Long For The Oort Cloud
  6. Somnambulant Foregoer
  7. Meanwhile, More Polemics With Kurt Gurkillis And Scud Moothers
  8. Idolatry
  9. Dimensions Disassociated

Cover Art: Travis Smith


Drums – Kevin Talley
Bass – Martin Rygiel
Guitars – Jason Williams
Vocals – Matthew Williams