Rebel Priest Encourages Dark Obsessions w/ “Vulgar Romance” Off New EP

Vancouver’s Rebel Priest Encourages Dark Obsessions With “Vulgar Romance” Off “Lost In Tokyo”

New EP “Lost In Tokyo” Out August 13th via Batcave Records

L-R – Jayme Black – Vocals/Bass, Nate Pole – Drums/Vocals, Benny Kemp – Guitars/Vocals

Hailing from Vancouver, Canada, Rebel Priest is the denim and leather-clad trio that has been whipping across stages and pushing out bangin’ albums since 2014. This year they are putting out a new EP called “Lost In Tokyo”, which will be available on August 13th via Batcave Records.  

As the name of the EP hints, most of these tracks were written in Japan in 2019 before the closure, the band has been sitting on them for a year, and the time is finally right for them to come out. The third single off this record is “Vulgar Romance”, a dark groover about people’s interests in serial killers and trying to see behind the mind of the hunter. The band explains the track in more depth:

“This song came across with our interest in other people’s interest in serial killers and what would happen if someone took fandom too far or they actually got to see in the eyes behind the mind. It’s a commentary on what people’s hungers are and the deprivation that one can get if they take their interest to the next level. It’s a bittersweet take on a dark topic, we tried to capture the atmosphere with more of a swing to the song as if you were stalking down the street.”

“Vulgar Romance” can be heard at

In their infancy Rebel Priest started out making a lot of different genres, seeing what they liked, what would mesh, and testing all the styles they liked to see what they could pull off. As of now, the experimentation phase is over, they have focused on rock n’ roll because it’s the most natural thing for them, it comes out easily and they don’t have to think about it, however, this could evolve in the future.

If this four-track EP isn’t enough for the fans out there, don’t fret, Rebel Priest ensures that they aren’t slowing down and they will have more coming out throughout the rest of the year, LIKE A FREIGHT TRAIN!

Rebel Priest is bringing the rock and recommended for fans of Rose Tattoo, Deep Purple, and LA Guns.

The EP releases on August 13, 2021 via Batcave Records on the following platforms:

Batcave Records Online StoreRebelpriest.bandcamp.comSpotifyApple Music.

Previous singles:

Upcoming Show Dates:
Sept 4 – Maple Ridge, BC – The Wolf Bar – info

Track Listing:
1. Lost In Tokyo (3:29)
2. Back Alley Blues (3:03)
3. Vulgar Romance (4:15)
4. When The Whip Comes Down (4:33) (Slash Puppet Cover)
EP Length: 15:25

EP Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Rebel Priest
• All songs written by: Rebel Priest *except “When The Whip Comes Down”, Music: Slash Puppet, Lyrics: Mif
• Produced by: Rene D La Muerte
• Mixed by: Rene D La Muerte
• Mastered by: Rene D La Muerte
• Album Artwork by: Nate Pole
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

EP and Live Band Line Up:
Jayme Black – Vocals/Bass
Benny Kemp – Guitars/Vocals
Nate Pole – Drums/Vocals

For more info:

Rebel Priest is a no-nonsense, real-deal rock n’ roll band composed of three seasoned musicians who have been making their way through the Western Canadian rock n roll scene for years. Vocalist/bassist Jayme Black (Lust Boys, The Toxiks); guitarist/vocalist Benny Kemp (Lust Boys, Road Rash); and drummer/vocalist Nate Pole (Kill Matilda, The Toxiks) bring nothing but unadulterated, high energy grease infused Trash N’ Roll!

The band has had the pleasure of touring Japan, and performing alongside bands such as Udo (Accept), Lordi, Diamond Head, Crystal Pistol, Flotsam, and Jetsam along with playing many headlining gigs with the energy of Motorhead meets Motley Crue.
Since forming in 2014, the band has released three studio albums “R’ley Heavy” (2019), Enabler (2017 ), Self-Titled (2015) along with one live record “Dead Alive @ SBC (2017).

Now in 2021, they offering up a slab of new music in the shape of an EP “Lost In Tokyo”, which was written in Japan at the very end of 2019, before the closure, and the band has been sitting on the tracks for over a year. The band even shares a cover rendition of Toronto 80s metal band Slash Puppets’ “When The Whip Comes Down”.

“We had a batch of headbangers and a few didn’t make it, but sometimes songs just need other means to come out. We wanted to set the tone for each one on this EP as opposed to a full-length concept album. Each one is a juggernaut on their own and will stand strong without having to be bound to the others… and as for more music … oh Lemmy tell ya! We aren’t slowing down, we are gonna have stuff coming at ya throughout the rest of the year, LIKE A FREIGHT TRAIN!” adds Jayme Black (vocals/bassist).

Recommended for fans of Guns n’ Roses, AC/DC and Motley Crue, Rebel Priest’s new EP “Lost In Tokyo” will be available on August 13th, 2021 via Batcave Records.