Anneke van Giersbergen – The Darkest Skies Are The Brightest

Anneke Van Giersbergen
The Darkest Skies Are The Brightest
Inside Out Music
February 26, 2021

There is hardly any need to say much about the Dutch singer Anneke van Giersbergen. With band names like The Gathering, Gentle Storm or Vuur, music lovers already know. After “In This Moment We Are Free – Cities” (VUUR, 2017), the live album “Symphonized” (with the Residentie Orkest Den Haag, 2018), her 23rd (!!) album is now released. The solo album “The Darkest Skies Are The Brightest” contains eleven acoustic songs. I like to think of her performance in Hamburg, where she stood alone on the stage of the Rock Café St. Pauli and accompanied herself on her guitar.

Oh my God, can this woman sing. Already in “Agape” you can enjoy her voice, accompanied by acoustic guitar and strings. Later on, percussion is added. After the beautiful melodies, it gets a bit more rhythmic with “Hurricane”, given by the percussions that can be heard again. This also applies to “Survive” shortly before the end. In these two songs, the vocals are also stronger. Contrary to the title of the song, “The End” is in the middle of the album. Here the Dutchwoman shows her fragile side. Even an acoustic album can offer variety. The Soul Knows”, for example, has a strong pop edge. Keep It Simple” is in a similar vein. The final song sounds like a symphonic folk song, despite its often sparse acoustic instrumentation

“The Darkest Skies Are The Brightest” is an album for all those who like the voice of Anneke van Giersbergen. An album for quiet contemplative hours. I can’t say whether the hardcore metal fan will get his money’s worth here. Personally, I would have preferred a more rocking album after “Symphonized”. But what is not can still become.

Anneke van Giersbergen: Agape (Lyric Video):

Track list:

  • Agape
  • Hurricane
  • My Promise
  • I Saw A Car
  • The Soul Knows
  • The End
  • Keep It Simple
  • Lo And Behold
  • Losing You
  • Survive
  • Love You Like I Love You 
  • 7/10
    Album - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Cover Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10