Ascension – Under The Veil Of Madness

Under The Veil Of Madness
Label : Marquee/Avalon
Out : February 24, 2023
Playing Time : 59:27

The British Power Metalers of Ascension have been around since 2004, yet the band’s discography is limited. Between 2004 and 2010, various singles and EPs were released. However, the debut album “Far Beyond The Stars” was only released in 2012, and since then it has been mostly quiet around the band. Only in preparation for the new album “Under The Veil Of Madness” were two more singles released. The second album has been in the record shops since February this year.

“Sayonara” bangs out of the speakers straight away. Fast guitar runs dominate at first. Singer Ricki Ascension also goes at a high speed from the beginning. The chorus is catchy and easy to sing along to. A fast, hectic guitar solo whipped up by the drums crowns it all. With “Megalomaniac”, the Brits don’t take any speed out. Here, too, they trimmed mercilessly for high speed. The double bass does the rest. With “Defiance” it gets a little quieter, but only a little. With high Metal Screams. Only with “Monsters” do the Brits allow themselves a little breather. At least for the first minute. Here the song seems anthemic and ballad-like in places. But Ascension obviously can’t really slow down. And this continues with “Set You Free”, “Last Winter’s Night” or “Under The Veil Of Madness”. The calm introduction of “Power Of A Thousand Suns” gives hope for some variety. But one is quickly disabused of this notion. The only change is that there are no vocals here. And as the album started, so it ends, with High-speed Metal (“Pages Of Gold”, “God Of Death”). Only on “Pages Of Gold” was there a little more variety.

Ascension go full throttle for almost the entire playing time of almost an hour. In the end, this seems a bit tiring, despite the high tempo. Somehow, I am reminded of their compatriots DragonForce. But they offer a bit more variety despite all the speed. I at least would like to hear more songs like “Pages Of Gold”.

Ascension – Sayonara:


Ricki Ascension – Vocals
Fraser Edwards – Guitar
Stuart Docherty – Guitar
Nick Blake – Bass
Dick Gilchrist – Drums

Track list:

  • Sayonara
  • Megalomaniac
  • Defiance
  • Monsters
  • Set You Free
  • Last Winter’s Night
  • Under The Veil Of Madness
  • Power Of A Thousand Suns
  • Pages Of Gold
  • God Of Death (Japanese Bonus Track)
  • 7/10
    Album - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10