Circle of Silence – Walk Through Hell

Circle Of Silence
Walk Through Hell
Massacre Records
Out: May 27th, 2022
Playing time: 56:56

The German Power Metal institution Circle of Silence is back with their fourth album “Walk Through Hell”. Compared to previous albums, the musicians were able to invest much more time in song writing this time. One of the effects of the pandemic.

Epic solos and lead guitars as well as vocals with up to 5 voices add some epicness to the new record.

The album was produced in the band’s own COS Studio. The finishing touches were later added by Kai Stahlenberg at Kohlekeller Studio B.

First, the obligatory intro “Down To Hell” resounds. And resounding is the right word here. No epic frills, but melodic power metal right from the start. So, it’s more of a too short instrumental song. Just the right introduction to the seamlessly following opener “Prisoner Of Time”. Here, drummer Peter Suppinger does a great job on the Double Bass. And Nick Keim sings with a scratchy voice. Rather untypical for the genre, but variety is good. Besides drummer and singer, the two guitarists are also convincing, with fast heavy riffs and twin guitar solos. Also, in “Walk Through Hell” the drums are in the foreground. A guitar fade-in leads into high-speed metal. One can be quite divided about the longest piece on the album “United”. There are colleagues who are disappointed by this song. But once again I admire the drummer, who pushes his comrades-in-arms to top performance. The Midtempo stomper “I Am Fear” follows.  Here, as with the other songs, the polyphonic choruses are impressive. With “At War With Yourself” the musicians step on the accelerator again. Before they lead into THE highlight of the album, the Metal anthem “Triumph Over Tragedy”. “I Want More” is again a Midtempo stomper, extremely rhythmic.  And so, it continues with the last three regular songs, High Speed Metal without the handbrake on, no matter if “The Curse” or “Far Beyond The Sun”. Only “God Is A Machine” tends towards the Midtempo area again. Often you can hear a slight speed-thrashy slant. What follows are the two bonus tracks “This Is War” and “Fire”, which are missing on the vinyl version.

Circle of Silence go full throttle for almost an hour. But it’s not just a lot of stupid blasting, it’s Melodic Power Metal on a high level. A very good example of how productively and creatively the concert-free time could be used. An absolute recommendation for the Metal fan.

Circle of Silence – At War With Yourself (Lyric Video):


Nick Keim – Vocals
Christian Sommerfeld – Gitarren
Tobias Pfahl – Gitarren
Björn Boehm – Bass
Peter Suppinger – Drums

Label: Massacre Records

Out: May 27th, 2022

Playing time: 56:56

Track list:

  • Down To Hell
  • Prisoner Of Time
  • Walk Through Hell
  • United
  • I Am Fear
  • At War With Yourself
  • Triumph Over Tragedy
  • I Want More
  • The Curse
  • Far Beyond The Sun
  • God Is A Machine
  • This Is War (Bonus Track)
  • Fire (Bonus Track)
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 9/10
    Cover-Art - 9/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10