Desert Near The End – “The Dawning of the Son”

Desert Near The End
The Dawning Of The Son
Boersma Records
Released On : May 27, 2022

As the time of the pandemic seems to be at its end, Desert Near the End used this two year break as an opportunity to be creative, delivering the direct successor of their previous endeavour, “of Fire and Stars”, a flawless album that pushes the power metal to its limits. Ever creatively restless, the Desert Near The End keep changing and evolving, in order to be always able to deliver and offer something exciting and limit breaking, without ever needing to sacrifice the spirit of their sound. 

And without a spec of doubt, their fifth release not only delivers the beloved sound and musical spirit of Desert Near The End, but it, also, presents the band’s purest artistic endeavor. The Desert Near The End have tamed their influences, to the point that they are barely noticeable, while keeping the essence of the sound intact. The thrash elements are, of course, present and prominent, but now a more melodic side has arisen. Crushing riffs intertwine and blend with memorable melodic lead guitar lines, shredding solos and amazing drum work, in a result that is described by sheer aggression, the epic element and the power metal grandeur that is derived through this blend of aggressive force and the epic. 

Being a concept record, the “The Dawning of the Son” is inspired by the Pierce Brown’s trilogy, “The Red Rising Saga”. By now and as it has been proven, the Desert Near The End have become experts in creating concept albums that are not only musically and aesthetically pleasing, but thematically and lyrically coherent. Through absolutely well-written lyrics, the Desert Near The End narrate an epic, sci-fi tale of a dystopian future in Mars, a tale of death, suffering, rebellion and finally, of freedom and salvation. 

With their fifth release, the Desert Near The End earn their spot as one of the most consistent bands in terms of quality, in the scene. And not only they release quality power metal records, but with the every new work they take the genre a step further with new and fresh ideas and exciting compositions. So, if you haven’t already listened to the “The Dawning of the Son”, give it a shot. 

The Dawning of the Son Tracklisting:

  1. Break the chains (4:56)
  2. Rise for dominion (4:02)
  3. A wolf amongst lions (4:23)
  4. Iron rain (4:10)
  5. I am hell and hell is me (6:48)
  6. Wound my way (5:03)
  7. Obsidian angel (6:33)
  8. Beyond the gates (6:44)
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 8/10
    CoverArt - 8/10
  • 9/10
    Songwriting - 9/10