ElisaDay – Auftakt

October 15th, 2021
Playing time: 24:42

ElisaDay were founded in 2013 by members of the band Lanewin. The singer had left Lanewin. The remaining musicians met Lubov Antropova and were thrilled by her voice. A complete re-branding followed. Two EPs were released (2014, 2017). Later, the musicians decided to revise the sound concept. The first EP of the new era (the third in total in the band’s history) was released in October Under the name “Auftakt”.

Even though the EP title is in German, the titles and lyrics of the four songs are in English. Why is that? That would be a reason to ask. Otherwise, the listener gets exactly what was announced – Symphonic Metal. So “Inner War” begins with sampled brass and strings. And the obligatory heavy riffs. Fortunately, singer Lyubov Dunaeva holds back with the very high notes. You don’t have to do without a guitar solo here either. Apart from that, hardly anything new.With “Fire Or Ice” follows a hymn in Symphonic garb.  Once again, a large orchestra is mixed in. Beautiful catchy melodies can be heard in this somewhat quieter song. “Poison Ring” starts with oriental sounds. A slight Folk edge can also be heard later on. With “Hear Me” ElisaDay try to create a monumental epic, at least if you look at the playing time of almost ten minutes. Reminds me a little of early Within Temptation. Especially the singer sounds very much like Sharon den Adel. So this song is a bit more complex. As if it came directly from the “Mother Earth” CD (for me, by the way, the best album of the Dutch). The growls also fit in here. The absolute highlight of the EP.

As already mentioned, “Auftakt” hardly provides any new impulses for the genre. Certainly not badly done. You can hear a little variety in the song writing. The guitars, however, are somewhat lost in all the symphonic bombast. But why shouldn’t ElisaDay continue to develop?

ElisaDay – Inner War: https://youtu.be/Kln3C9F2qhg


Denis Geit – Bass
Dmitry Popov – Guitars
Ivan Kaiser – Keyboards
Lyubov Dunaeva -Vocals
Igor Borodin – Drums

Track list:

  • Inner War
  • Fire Or Ice
  • Poison Ring
  • Hear Me
  • 7/10
    Album - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Cover Art - 8/10
  • 7/10
    Song Writing - 7/10