Feanor – Power Of The Chosen One

Power Of The Chosen One
Massacre Records
April 23, 2021

A lot of time has passed since the last sign of life from the Argentinians. “We Are Heavy Metal” was released in November 2016, and now “Power Of The Chosen One” is the band’s fourth album. Feanor was founded in 1996, but it took them nine years to release their debut album “Invencible”. Even after that, they kept taking their time with the production. Feanor have an impressive new member to report, former Manowar guitarist David Shankle. He composed the legendary “The Triumph Of Steel” together with Joey DiMaio years ago. Now he brings his experience in epic compositions to Feanor’s new album.

The opener “Rise Of The Dragon” is also the first single release. A video was also produced for it. And the Argentinians (with international backing) take no prisoners right from the start. They present their True Metal in the best (early) Manowar manner. At the very end, the guitars sound a bit weird and chaotic. This is how they distinguish themselves a little from their great idols. “Power Of The Chosen One” reminds me more of the earlier Majesty, both in terms of the vocals and the riffs. The song is enhanced by an excellent guitar solo. A great anthem to sing along to. Surely a highlight at future live shows.  On the other hand, “This You Can Trust” is a real speed cracker. Another one follows later with “Hell Is Waiting”. And Feanor are masters of metal anthems. They prove it again and again, whether with “Metal Land” or “Together Forever”. A highlight for me is “Bringer Of Pain”. Less epic but more power metal. After the two power ballads “Lost In Battle” and “Fighting For Our Dream” we come to the culmination of the album, the almost twenty-minute epic masterpiece “The Return Of The Metal King (The Odyssey In 9 Parts)”. Here is a list of the nine parts:

  • Part 1 – Athenea’s Plea
  • Part 2 – The Sound Of Thunder
  • Part 3 – Awaken On Sherie
  • Part 4 – Twelve Ships Of High Adventure
  • Part 5 – Odysseus´s Mirror
  • Part 6 – The Ride Of Telemachus
  • Part 7 – A Song Of Sirens
  • Part 8 – Odysseus Prays At Thrinacia
  • Part 9 – Slaying The Suitors

A rollercoaster ride, both emotionally and musically. Calm ballad-like parts alternate with hymns and speed metal passages. Juan Roleri can be heard as a guest on the piano.

With “Power Of The Chosen One” Feanor finally step out of the shadow of the great Manowar. With this album, the band should have ensured their place in the True Metal Olympus. All genre competitors will have to make a huge effort if they want to reach this level. An absolute must-buy. And a recommendation for the live concerts that will hopefully take place again soon.

FEANOR – Rise Of The Dragon (Official Video): https://youtu.be/U7tXDVgyHdw


Sven D’Anna – Vocals
David “The Shred Demon” Shankle – 6/7 Strings Electric Guitar, Classical Guitar
Walter “The Scorpion” Hernandez – Electric Guitar
Gustavo Feanor Acosta – Acoustic Bass, 4/5 Strings Bass, Oud, Piano, Bouzouki
Emiliano Wachs – Drums


Juan Roleri – Piano on “The Return Of The Metal King”

Track list:

  • Rise Of The Dragon
  • Power Of The Chosen One
  • This You Can Trust
  • Metal Land
  • Hell Is Waiting
  • Together Forever
  • Bringer Of Pain
  • Lost In Battle
  • Fighting For A Dream
  • The Return Of The Metal King (The Odyssey In 9 Parts) 
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 9/10
    Cover Art - 9/10
  • 10/10
    Songwriting - 10/10