For the Storms – The Grieving Path

For The Storms
The Grieving Path
Time To Kill Records
Out: April 21st, 2022
Playing time: 46:18

The doom/black metal project For the Storms was founded in 2019 in Brescia (Northern Italy). By former members of a band called Shantak (Melodic Death Metal). Encyclopaedia Metallum lists 2021 as the year of foundation, while the same source lists November 2021 as the release date for “The Grieving Path”, but as a self-release. So this should be a new release via a label. Apart from that, there is hardly any information about the band. So, we will let the music speak for itself.

And this one is deeply melancholic, over the entire playing time of a little more than three quarters of an hour. For example, “For The Storms To Come” starts with a wind noise fade-in, accompanied by surreal synth sounds. But then the full Doom Metal power punches in. And underlays the growls with a powerful carpet of riffs. Just the right sound for the current dark moods. Later, surprisingly, clean guitars can also be heard. But there is still no happy mood, but there is some hope. But this is later pushed into the background by oppressive riffing. And by the abysmally angry sounding growls. At almost thirteen minutes, this is the longest song on the album. But even the shortest, “Just Another Skull”, is more than six minutes long. “Tombless” is played a little faster but hardly less gloomy. Later, strings are heard, but also rather in a minor key. “A Downfall” starts with calm piano tones. Before the dark riffs dominate again. And if you think the peak of gloominess has been reached, listen to the fragile sounding spoken words. These reflect a feeling of complete forlornness. After all that has been heard so far, the closing song “Unbound” almost sounds optimistic and positive.

“The Grieving Path” is a disturbing sounding album. You have to enjoy it in absolute silence. And with an appropriate volume. A very good and above all varied album. Clean and fat produced. Recommendable.

For The Storms – A Downfall (Official Video):


Fabio Pierani – Guitars
Nicola Belotti – Vocals
Federico Albini – Bass

Label: Time To Kill Records

Out: April 21st, 2022

Playing time: 46:18

Track list:

  • For The Storms to Come
  • Tombless
  • Just Another Skull
  • A Downfall
  • Unbound
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10