Kryptos – Force Of Danger

Force of Danger
AFM Records
October 01st, 2021
Playing time: 35:34

The ultimate sound of denim and leather!
Invoking the ‘80s one riff at a time.

Writers of press releases are commonly known for their pithy sayings. However, as far as this description is concerned, I can only underline that. I have already seen Kryptos live once. What an incredible power they had on stage. And I also liked the album “Afterburner” very much. Two years later, the successor “Force Of Danger” was released. So, it was natural for me to listen to this silver disc a little more intensively.

As on the previous album, Kryptos go at a fast pace, the scratchy voice of Nolan Lewis gives the whole thing a proper Thrash edge. You can already hear it on the opener “Raging Steel”. And what is that incredible guitar solo? It reminds me of Dragonforce, but they are much less thrashy. No prisoners are taken on “Hot Wire” either. Newcomer Vijit Singh on drums has to work hard. “Dawnbreakers” sounds more like Classic Power Metal. Heavy riffs and a melodic guitar solo provide one of the absolute highlights of the album. In contrast, “Thunderchild” picks up speed again. Here, too, a melodic guitar solo is the icing on the cake. “Nightawk” starts a little quieter. But then the Indians start again. “Omega Point” is more midtempo and tends towards Classic Power Metal again. This continues with the title track “Force of Danger” and the last song “Shadowmancer”. The latter sounds almost anthemic.

Nolan’s vocals will probably divide opinions. Over the entire length of the album, he screams and roars, monotonously, almost without variations in his voice. But I like it. Musically, the album is varied, sometimes Highspeed-Thrash, then again Power Metal and also the anthemic is not neglected. The only thing missing is a ballad. But this is probably not one of the musicians’ characteristics.

Kryptos – Hot Wired:


Nolan Lewis – Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Rohit Chaturvedi – Lead Guitar
Ganesh K – Bass
Vijit Singh – Drums

Track list:

  • Raging Steel
  • Hot Wired
  • Dawnbreakers
  • Thunderchild
  • Nighthawk
  • Omega Point
  • Force Of Danger
  • Shadowmancer
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 9/10
    Songwriting - 9/10