Lacuna Coil – Live From The Apocalypse

Lacuna Coil
Live From The Apocalypse
Century Media
June 25, 2021

In October 2019, “Black Anima” was released, the ninth album of the Alternative Metal band Lacuna Coil from the Italian metropolis of Milan. One year later, it was supposed to go on tour with the album. But then came COVID-19. And what that means for live concerts, we fans unfortunately know all too well. So in September 2020, the musicians rented the Alcatraz Club in their hometown. And streamed a one-hour show. Without an audience. This concert is now released under the apt name “Live From The Apocalypse” as CD, vinyl and DVD.

Normally, a new live album would not have been necessary. After all, “The 119 Show – Live in London” was released only in 2018. But it is special situation. Many bands have sought contact with their fans in a completely new way. Live from an empty club. Gotthard from Switzerland were pioneers here, with a release show from their rehearsal room. But only a few filmed their performance and later released it as a DVD or CD. The first, to my knowledge, were Imperial Age from Moscow. So, this release is a testimony of time. All songs of the last album “Black Anima” were presented on this evening, including the bonus tracks of the 2-CD Special Edition. And the single “Bad Things” was obviously released exclusively on Amazon Music. So, songs were performed that normally would not have been in the live set.

The recordings were mixed clearly, almost in studio quality. No wonder, there was no need to capture any audience reactions. The announcements of the two singers were also appropriately restrained. Of course, I am now curious about the picture and sound quality of the DVD. I don’t know whether I should make a purchase recommendation here or better not. I tend to yes. After all, you also support the musicians in these difficult months.


Cristina Scabbia – Vocals
Andrea Ferro – Vocals
Diego Cavallotti – Guitars
Marco Coti Zelati – Bass, Keyboards, Guitars
Richard Meiz – Drums

Track list:

  • Anima Nera
  • Sword Of Anger
  • Save Me
  • Now Or Never
  • Reckless
  • Through The Flames
  • Apocalypse
  • Black Feathers
  • Under The Surface
  • The End Is All I Can See
  • Veneficium
  • Black Dried Up Heart
  • Bad Things
  • Layers Of Time
  • Black Anima
  • Save Me (Apocalypse Version)