Marauder – Metal Constructions VII

Metal Constructions VII
Pitch Black Records
Out : March 10, 2023
Playing Time: 01:02:05

Marauder is a proven Metal band from Greece. They have been bringing their Power Metal to the people since 1990. Six albums have been released so far. The last release (“Bullethead”) was already seven years ago. Since then, the two guitarists and founding members Andreas Tsaousis and George Sofronas have had to look for a new singer and drummer. Only bassist Thodoris Paralis has been with the band even longer. Now “Metal Constructions VII” has been released.

I’ll skip the ” Intro” for now. Instead, I’ll turn to the first regular song, “Strike Back Again”. And this is promising High Speed Power Metal. The voice of Tassos Krokodilos fits perfectly. And the two guitarists just smash the riffs around your ears. The choir vocals add a touch of epicness. And of course, no Power Metal without a solo, as is the case here. Fine twin guitars that play the balls to each other. “Shout It Out” starts more calmly and rhythmically with beautiful guitar lines. With the vocals, the instruments are taken back even further. With “Under Her Spell” it goes back into high-speed mode. Without, however, neglecting the melodic foundation. The interplay of the guitarists is also impressive here. Downing/Tipton send their regards. “Nightfall” is a Power Metal stomper that encourages headbanging. It continues with high speed and “Erase”. “Rock Fighters” is a bit out of the ordinary. Very melodic clean guitars paired with calm riffs. Tassos’ vocals also spread this deeply relaxed calm. “The Iron Mask” rocks more again. Especially the riffs provide a lot of power. The introductory riffs of “Holy Bible” sound a bit like The Who. But later we hear Melodic Power Metal. The melodic “Never Die” is followed by the epic hymn “The Son Of God”. The closing song “Father” is a whole nine minutes long. A huge Power Metal anthem at the end.

New member Tassos Krokodilos gives an outstanding performance on the microphone. The guitarists prove again and again that they are excellently matched. They can easily keep up with the great guitar duos in their genre. Besides the already mentioned guitar wizard from Judas Priest, there would also be Hoffmann / Frank (Accept). But also Iron Maiden (three guitarists), Thin Lizzy or Helloween could be used as a comparison. Of course, one must not forget the bass and drums, which provide a powerful and rhythmic entire sound. That says it all about the quality of the album. Top class!

Marauder – Strike Back Again:


Tassos Krokodilos – Vocals
Andreas Tsaousis – Guitars
George Sofronas – Guitars
Thodoris Paralis – Bass
Nick Samios – Drums

Track list:

  • Intro
  • Strike Back Again
  • Shout it Out
  • Under Her Spell 
  • Nightfall
  • Erase
  • Rock Fighters
  • The Iron Mask
  • Holy Bible
  • Never Die
  • The Son Of God
  • Father
  • 10/10
    Album - 10/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 9/10
    Song Writing - 9/10