March In Arms – Pulse Of The Daring

March In Arms
Pulse Of The Daring
RFL Records
July 2nd, 2021 (CD) / December 4th, 2020 (digital, self-published)
Playing time: 49:16

March In Arms come from South Dakota. According to the press release, the musicians are dedicated to military themes. Reminds me somehow of Sabaton or Civil War. The digital version of “Pulse Of Daring” was released in December last year. The physical CD has been distributed worldwide by RFL Records since the beginning of July 2021. Formed back in 2012, the band’s self-titled debut album was released in 2018, and recording of the follow-up began in November of the same year. Shortly after completion, the drummer and the bassist left the band. Thus, “Pulse Of The Daring” is a testimony from a previous creative period. But unfortunately, this is how it is with many smaller bands.

“The First World War began in “1914′, on 28 July to be precise. With the declaration of war by Austria-Hungary against Serbia. This is the opening song on the album. The first few beats already show that March In Arms are not necessarily sailing in the wake of Sabaton or Manowar. The sound is heavier and more powerful, with less bombast. After all, three guitarists are at work here, just like another great band perfectly celebrates. Not that the sound is comparable to Iron Maiden, but the powerful guitar sounds make you want to headbang. And the guitarists throw the balls to each other during the solo. The heavy midtempo stomper “Altar Of The Gun” follows. The drums set the pace here, booming. And again, the guitarists show their skills. Of course, a great Metal hymn must not be missing. And this is what you get with “Welcome The Blitz”. With a chorus that you can sing along to immediately. “Nisei”, which was also released as a single, goes one better in terms of melody, but without losing any of its heaviness. The title track “Pulse Of The Daring” stomps along sublimely and majestically. Awesome! Radio traffic, helicopters, that’s how “An Act Of Valor” starts. The guitars then fall into the rhythm of the rotors. So, the song seems faster than the previous ones, although also mostly in the midtempo range. The tempo picks up with “Thunderbolt”. This is probably the most intense and fastest album track. Also “Omaha” is high-speed metal, while the last track “Not For Nothing” is another great Metal hymn. However, it is much heavier than one is normally used to.

Military/Battle Metal? Yes! Cheesy melodies and exaggerated bombast? Not at all! That’s how “Pulse Of The Daring” can be summarised. Now I almost forgot the singer. Ryan Knutson has exactly the voice this sound needs. Unagitated and without much pathos, he puts the icing on the cake of the songs. So if you think bands like Sabaton or Manowar and others are too cheesy but still want to hear great metal anthems and stompers, you should turn to March in Amrs. The album is a shining hour of melodic power metal.

”March In Arms – Nisei:


Jon Parker – Guitars
Sheldon Swan – Guitars
Ryan Knutson – Vocals, Guitars
Scott McGuire – Bass
Phil Mueller – Drums

Track list:

  • 1914
  • Altar Of The Gun
  • Welcome The Blitz
  • Nisei
  • Pulse Of The Daring
  • An Act Of Valor
  • No Years Resolution
  • Thunderbolt
  • Omaha
  • Not For Nothing
  • 10/10
    Album - 10/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 9/10
    Song-Writing - 9/10