Osyron – Foundations

SAOL/The Orchard
July 10, 2020

Many metal bands deal with history on their albums. Mostly it’s about wars, big battles and the like. This also applies to the Canadians Osyron, who took the (war) history as well as the expulsion of the natives of their home country as topics in their latest EP “Foundations”.

“The Cross” starts with a dark, film-music-like intro before the guitars and drums kick off. “Huh” gang shouts are always part of the song. It deals with the missionary work of the unbelieving natives. Sometimes a few deep growls can be heard, whereby the song always remains melodic.

It continues with “Ignite”, a song about the First World War and the role of Canada in that one. Here the two guitarists Krysztof and Bobby are playing almost thrashing riffs. The “huh”s are also sprinkled in again as stylistic devices.

“Battle of the Thames” is a beautiful, sad ballad and would be a nice invitation to dream if the topic wasn’t so dark. Incidentally, the battle in 1812 did not take place in London, but in Ontario (Canada) between the English and the U.S. Troops. Garnished with a great guitar solo and emotional vocals the best song on the album.

The penultimate song is again a fast rocker and surprises with quite aggressive vocals. However, it is not particularly sustainable in the head. A filler that you don’t necessarily expect on an EP.

The title song makes up for that. With just under eight and a half minutes you can already call it a little epic. After a gentle start with an acoustic guitar, it rises to an epic metal song before it takes on ballad-like features again in the middle section. Towards the end, they work with crisp riffs and powerful vocals again. A worthy conclusion to the mini album.

An EP that deals with issues where one wonders why we call ourselves civilized in the first place and why the natives of America or Australia have been called savages. It is (or should be) thought-provoking. And by the way, it also comes up with good music, you really can’t ask for much more.


Tyler Corbett – Bass
Cody Anstey – Drums
Krzysztof Stalmach – Guitars
Reed – Vocals
Bobby Harley – Vocals, Guitars

Track list:

  • The Cross
  • Ignite
  • Battle Of The Thames
  • The Ones Below
  • Foundations
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Album Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10