Oversense – Egomania

Dr. Music Records
September 17th, 2021
Playing time: 54:42

OVERSENSE is currently one of the most emerging bands the European Metal scene has to offer.

At least that’s what the press release claims. The history of Oversense goes back to 2012, when singer and guitarist Danny Meyer and drummer Patrick Lippert recorded their first songs together. The first EP “Dreamcatcher” was released in 2014. Although, if the Encyclopaedia Metallum is to be trusted, it was already album-length. The line-up was completed. For example, in 2017 Jasmin Pabst aka Jassy J joined as the second guitarist. She became known with her YouTube channel JJ’s One Girl Band, which now has several hundred thousand followers. In the same year, the debut album “The Storyteller” was released. In winter 2018, work began on the follow-up “Egomania”. The crowdfunding campaign on Startnext was extremely successful. More than 16,000 € could be collected. You can now listen to the result. A word about the band’s name. Obersinn in Bavaria, or rather in Lower Franconia, is given as the hometown. Oversense would be the literal translation into English.

Technical gimmicks at the beginning of “Toast To The Devil”. But soon heavy riffs bang out of the boxes. Bass and drums boom and you can enjoy the unique voice of Danny Meyer. With this singer, the band clearly has a unique selling point. Good for the one who has two outstanding guitarists in his ranks. Of course, the band can also shine with very good hook lines. With “The Longing”, the Franconians borrow from Symphonic Metal. Epic choruses can be heard. But also here, heavy riffs, bass lines and powerful drumming dominate. Only the vocals are somewhat restrained. A beautiful vocal duet between Danny Meyer and the Sick N’ Beautiful songstress Herma Sick can be heard on “Be”. A great Pop/Rock-Metal anthem. A video was also produced for this song. More airplay-worthy songs follow, such as “My Eden” or the once again anthemic “Tear Me Down”. “Love” is a keyboard-heavy Pop-Rock song. “Faith” features another guest vocalist, Ulli Perhonen from Hessian Symphonic Metalers Snow White Blood. After a symphonic introduction, drums and guitars initially drive at high speed. But soon it becomes quieter. Even then, the double bass can be heard clearly. In addition, there are epic orchestrations but also filigree guitar solos. Another highlight is “Antisocial”. Here, Oversense rock straight ahead. Shortly before the end, “Memories” is the obligatory power ballad. You almost think another ballad is following. But “Extinction” only starts ballad-like, but can later show various melody, tempo and rhythm changes. So it’s an album finale with a slight Progressive edge.

On “Egomanie”, Oversense attempt the balancing act between Art and Commerce, between Metal, Rock and Pop influences. For the most part they succeed. Many metal fans will feel right at home. And on Rock radio stations the songs could definitely hold their own next to the oversized international competition. The album production is characterised by a fat sound and clear tones. So the press release can definitely be confirmed.

OVERSENSE – Be (feat. Herma Sick): https://youtu.be/stX0vdfLTHI


Danny Meyer – Gesang, Gitarre, Keyboard
Jasmin ‘Jassy J.’ Pabst – Gitarre
Marco Volpert – Bass, Gesang
Patrick Lippert – Schlagzeug, Gesang

Track list:

  • Toast To The Devil
  • The Longing
  • Be
  • My Eden
  • Tear Me Down
  • Love
  • Faith
  • Rave In Hell
  • Antisocial
  • Memories
  • Extinction
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 7/10
    Cover Art - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Song Writing - 8/10