Reinforcer – Prince Of The Tribes

Prince Of The Tribes
Scarlet Records
June 18, 2021

Classic Heavy Metal combined with Epic Power Metal. Packed with heroic melodies, played with two lead guitars. This is how the press release describes the sound of Reinforcer, a new band from Paderborn. The band was founded in 2015 and their first EP “The Wanderer” was released three years later. At that time, it was still self-distributed. Now signed to the Milan-based label Scarlet Records, the debut album “Prince Of The Tribes” will be released in June. The recordings were made at Room 89 Media and Kohlekeller Studio (Powerwolf, Aborted).

When you hear the beginning of “Prince Of The Tribes”, you think that this is a Symphonic Metal album. Even the onset of the first guitar hooks doesn’t change that at first. But the band from North Rhine-Westphalia soon proves that this is not the case. Melodic but hard leads, supported by heavy sounding riffs. And Logan Lexi shows that he is a very good singer. The title track is a great power metal anthem. If I had more hair on my head, it would form a wild spinning top. “Allegiance And Steel” starts off much heavier. The musicians keep up a high tempo over the whole playing time. With ” Black Sails” you feel like you’ve been transported to a pirate dive on the legendary island of Tortuga. But don’t worry, the musicians don’t try to sail in the wake of Alestorm. That wouldn’t fit at all, if only vocally. Although you might hear quotes from time to time. Musically, however, Reinforcer are more varied. This is also shown by the straightforward rocker “Coup De Grâce”. With “Thou Shall Burn” you can enjoy the perfect interplay of the two guitarists, while the drums keep pushing forward. With “Hand On Heart”, another metal anthem follows. The final song “Z32” is relatively quiet. Not a real ballad but still with many ballad-like but also epic parts. And again, with brilliant guitar work. One could almost say that Reinforcer have saved the best for last.

“Prince Of The Tribes” is a convincing album debut. Certainly, you don’t hear much new in the genre of Power Metal. But the production is very punchy. Musically, all five musicians are impressive. Above all, of course, the singer. It’s fun to listen to the songs over and over again. More of it, please.


Logan Lexi – Vocals
Tobias Schwarzer – Guitar
Niclas Stappert – Guitar
Marvin Fretter – Bass
Lasse Schmiedel – Drums

Track list:

  • Prince Of The Tribes
  • Allegiance And Steel
  • Black Sails
  • Shieldmaiden
  • Coup De Grâce
  • Thou Shall Burn
  • Hand On Heart
  • Another Night
  • Z32
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 7/10
    Cover Art - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10