Selenseas – The Outer Limits

The Outer Limits
Rockshots Records
August 7, 2020
46:01/55:20 (Incl Bonus)

Selenseas were founded in Moscow in 2010. In 2012 the musicians released a first demo with two songs. After that, the band apparently paused two years. Therefore, the debut EP “В отражении” was released in 2016. One year later, the first album “За гранью возможного” followed. In addition, a live album was out. In August, the English version of the debut “The Outer Limits” was released. For this, the songs were translated into English, re-recorded and two bonus tracks added. So, to speak, the international debut album.

The “intro” already shows where to go. Powerful symphonic power metal. Also, with “Hope” the orchestral sounds are clearly style-defining. Reminds me, who is surprised, something of Imperial Age, but only with a male voice. There are hectic keyboard and guitar sounds. The sound of the sea, creaking planks, that’s how “Frigate” starts. Otherwise comes to something subliminally seafaring romance. The keys also dominate here. There is also a filigree guitar solo. With “Time” you can hear at the beginning what the song is about. A clock is ticking. “Asgard” exudes a lot of epic. Bombast and especially the riffs underline that the Nordic gods are sung here. For “The Revenge Of The Ifrit” Selenseas were able to win Sergei Lazar (Arkona), a well-known guest musician. The song starts in folk style, but then changes back to symphonic metal. But the folk edge always flashes out here. The ballad-like “Dante” then offers a pleasant change. The charismatic voice of Mikhail Kudrey is clearly in the foreground here. With “Mirror” the pace picks up again thanks to the driving drums. Shortly before the end follows “The Milky Way”, the first single release. This song sounds a bit rockier than the other songs on the album. The title song “The Outer Limits” follows at the end of the regular part. And with its mixture of folk, progressive, doom and hard rock, it offers a bit of variety. I don’t want to comment on the two bonus tracks. I still haven’t understood what remixes or alternative editions are good for. The fans will certainly be happy about that.

The Russians can build on “The Outer Limits”. It’s not a great album, but it’s still fun to listen to. For most of the songs, Selenseas played it a little too safe. With some songs (“The Outer Limits”, “Dante” or “The Milky Way”) the band shows what potential is in it.

Selenseas – The Mirror (Official Visualizer):


Mikhail Kudrey – Vocals
Vladislav Tyushin – Bass
Denis Andrianov – Guitars
Ivan Lisitsyn – Guitar
Liudmila Malaya – Drums
Svetlana Tyushina – Keyboards

Track list:

  • Intro
  • Hope
  • Frigate
  • Time
  • Asgard
  • The Revenge Of The Ifrit
  • Dante
  • The Mirror
  • The Flame Of Dawn
  • The Milky Way
  • The Outer Limits

Bonus Tracks

  • The Mirror (Radio Edit)
  • The Milky Way (Alternative Version)
  • 7.5/10
    Album - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Cover Art - 7.5/10
  • 7.5/10
    Songwriting - 7.5/10