Signum Regis – Exodus (Remixed & Remastered 2022)

Signum Regis
Exodus (Remixed & Remastered 2022)
Label: Ulterium Records
Out: October 07th, 2022
Playing time: 56:01

With their third album “Exodus”, the Slovakian Signum Regis achieved their breakthrough in 2013. At that time, the band was obviously a trio and so the album was recorded with various guest musicians. Reason enough for the band now to release the album in a remixed and remastered version. For this, the current singer Jota Fortinho has re-recorded a lot of backing vocals. In addition, the band also recorded a bonus song. The tracks were then sent to Jacob Hansen in Denmark, who did the remastering. The result is now available. I took out the original and compared it with the current version.

Can acoustic guitars sound more powerful? Yes, they can. The intro “On The Nile” proves that. The splashing of the water can also be heard more clearly. Jacob Hansen has already started to enhance the sound here. This continues later on with “Enslaved”. In addition, the lower tones are brought to the fore. In the introduction to “The Promised Land”, the strings and choruses are emphasised a bit more. And the guitars really fry now. Also in other songs, such as “Let Us Go!”, the guitars have been processed, the lows somewhat emphasised. Sometimes sound effects were added (“Wrath Of Pharaoh”, “The Ten Plagues”), which makes the songs a bit longer. I don’t want to discuss all the changes of each song now. So finally, just a word about bonus track “Enslaved”. Only the current singer Jota Fortinho can be heard here. He sings a bit rougher than Thomas Winkler at that time. This fits well with the current sound of the band.

To say it straight away, with the new arrangement of the songs, the album clearly gains in pressure. It sounds more modern, as if it has been lifted into the current era. Nevertheless, the character of the songs is not lost at any point. This clearly shows what an excellent job Jacob Hansen has done. The only thing I can’t quite understand is the timing of the release. The tenth anniversary of the album would actually be next year.


Current line-up

Majo Sucháň – Guitars
Ronnie König – Bass
Filip Koluš – Guitars
Ján Tupý – Keyboards
Jaro Jančula – Drums
Jota Fortinho – Vocals

Label: Ulterium Records

Out: October 07th, 2022

Playing time: 56:01

Track list:

  • On The Nile
  • Enslaved (feat. Thomas Winkler, Jota Fortinho)
  • The Promised Land (feat. Michael Vescera)
  • Let Us Go! (feat. Eli Prinsen)
  • Wrath of Pharaoh (feat. Samuel Nyman)
  • The Ten Plagues (feat. Matt Smith)
  • Last Days In Egypt
  • Exodus (feat. Lance King)
  • Song of Deliverance (feat. Daisa Munhoz, Lance King, Matt Smith)
  • Mountain of God (feat. Mayo Petranin, Jota Fortinho)
  • Sole Survivor (feat. Göran Edman)
  • Enslaved (feat. Jota Fortinho) (Bonus Track)