SilentLie – Equilibrium

Label: Rockshots Records
Out: September 30th, 2022
Playing time: 43:24

They take their time, the Heavy Metal band SielentLie from Trieste (Italy). It took ten years from the founding to the album debut “Layers Of Nothing“. Only two EPs were released before that. And seven years later, the successor “Equilibrium” is finished. The good news is that the line-up has not changed since 2015. In the meantime, the quartet has signed with Rockshots Records. The album was mixed by Dave Hagen at Dark Horse Studios (Mastodon, Evanescence, Alice in Chains). This should actually ensure a good sound. Let’s just take a listen.

Fortunately, SilentLie once again do without an epic introduction and go straight into the full swing with “Divided”. Calm Rock with a gloomy atmosphere. Especially thanks to the dark voice of singer Giorgia Sacco Taz. With her, the Italians have a jewel in their hands that some of the genre’s competitors will probably look at with envy. Besides riffs, you can also hear a sacral-sounding organ (Davide Sportiello). In “On My Skin” the tempo picks up a little. At first, guitar master Luigi Pressacco pushes himself to the fore. Later he delivers a great guitar solo. Andrea Piergianni’s drumming sounds calm and serene. Exactly to the point. On “Something To Remember”, less emphasis is placed on catchy melodies. And it is precisely these rough edges in the arrangement that make the song so interesting. In “Taste Of Solitude”, Davide Sportiello’s bass line dominates at first. “The One Who Disappears” is a dark sounding power ballad. You don’t hear this mixture very often. For me, one of the album highlights. The rocking title song “Equilibrium” is also one of the highlights. With “Hysteria” the Italians go at a higher tempo again. What was already noticeable in the last songs continues with “Modern Paradox”. As a short introduction, there are partly Industrial partly surreal sounds to hear. It somehow fits the gloomy mood. But these gimmicks are not overused, and that’s good. Rock/Metal reigns, also thanks to the repeatedly integrated guitar solos, accentuated drumming and pumping bass lines. With “The Others”, another ballad follows shortly before the end. Giorgia’s singing is accompanied by the electric piano. Only towards the end does the full force of the rhythm section kick in, crowned again by a great guitar solo. The final song “World Upside Down” starts with epic keyboard sounds. Later, the vocals are underpinned by discreet choruses. An opulent Dark Rock anthem, which could also be used as a soundtrack, thus forms the conclusion.

Can you call “Equilibrium” a comeback after a seven-year wait? I think so. And this one is extremely successful. But the most amazing thing is that even after such a long break, the line-up has remained unchanged. That is certainly one of SilentLie’s recipes for success. Hopefully we won’t have to wait another seven years for the successor.

SilentLie – Something To Remember:


Davide Sportiello – Bass, Keyboards
Andrea Piergianni – Drums
Luigi Pressacco – Guitars
Giorgia Sacco Taz – Vocals

Track list:

  • Divided
  • On My Skin
  • Something To Remember
  • Taste Of Solitude
  • The One Who Disappears
  • Equilibrium
  • Hysteria
  • Modern Paradox
  • The Others
  • World Upside Down
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10