Siren – Back From The Dead

Back From The Dead
Self-released – Siren Music Publishing (Digital) /GOM Records (CD) / Underground Power Records (Vinyl)
April 15, 2020

The Tampa Bay band Siren has existed, intermittently, since 1981. This region on the west coast of Florida was known for metal productions in the early and mid 80s of the last century. With bands like Savatage, Obituary or Nasty Savage. However, Siren did not achieve their notoriety. When grunge came up at the beginning of the 90s, the band’s temporary end was sealed. A first attempt at reunion in 2010 was unsuccessful. As luck would have it, they were invited to Keep It True in 2018. The musicians, who got back together two years earlier, gave a much-acclaimed concert at this festival. As a result, work began on the third studio album. This has now appeared after a break of more than thirty years under the name “Back From The Dead”.

At first, I got a little confused. The press release speaks of fifteen songs, my player only shows fourteen. But the short intro “The Sharpening” and the opening song “S-Blade Serenade” are combined into one track. After the almost forty-second anthemic introduction, the US boys shoot classic high-speed Metal. In addition to the twin guitars, the drums in “S-Blade Serenade” provide a pinch of Thrash. But the whole thing is very melodic. In addition to Doug Lee’s scratchy voice, clean vocals can also be heard. “Fuel Injected Suicide” starts, appropriately, with engine noises and tires screeching. Before hard and fast riffs again determine the sound. The following songs are also deeply rooted in US metal with progressive influences. In addition, there are also influences from NWOBHM and Teutonic Metal, for which bands like Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Saxon and Accept stand. So hymns like “Lydia The Lunatic”, “Treason” or “Lost Passenger” alternate with hard metal hits (“The Devil May Care”, “Insomnia”, “How Do You Think I Feel”) up to high speed Metal songs (“Back From The Dead”, “Watch Us Fly”). Above all, the riff-heavy title song can convince. One of the highlights of the album is undoubtedly the outstanding power ballad “I Am Clairvoyant”.

The album actually deserves to be discussed as soon as possible (April / May of last year). But as life goes, the promo for “Back From The Dead” only reached me just before Christmas. But Siren have convinced me so much with their comeback that I cannot avoid writing a short statement. Fourteen very good songs with a total playing time of more than an hour. Not a single gap filler. Excellent musicians and a fat production make the album a real listening pleasure.

Siren – Back from the Dead (2020):


Doug Lee – Vocals
Ed Aborn – Drums
Todd Grubbs – Guitar
Hal Dunn – Guitar
Gregg Culbertson – Bass

Track list:

  • The Sharpening
  • S-Blade Serenade
  • Fuel Injected Suicide
  • Science Fiction Movie
  • Lydia The Lunatic
  • The Devil May Care
  • Insomnia
  • Back From The Dead
  • I Am Clairvoyant
  • Watch Us Fly
  • Treason
  • Say It
  • Your Reality
  • How Do You Think I Feel
  • Lost Passenger
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 8/10
    Cover Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Song Writing - 8/10