It’s often the most difficult challenges that force a musician to grow artistically. For Lacrimas Profundere, one of the most innovative and successful German dark metal bands of our time, their latest studio album ‘How To Shroud Yourself With Night’ (scheduled for release on Steamhammer/SPV on 26 August 2022) was primarily about the implicit burden imposed by their 2019 hit record ‘Bleeding The Stars’, whose success had indirectly raised huge expectations: “Album of the Month” in magazines such as Metal Hammer, Orkus and Dead Rhetoric, top 10 positions in other important publications, plus a chart entry and the group’s most successful headlining tour to date. Who wouldn’t be tempted to flirt with a sequel of that success story? “For me, it was about liberating myself from the pressure to succeed and about trying to raise the bar, staying ahead of the game, challenging myself and staying true to ourselves, instead of playing it safe and writing some kind of ‘Bleeding Part II’,” explains guitarist, band founder and main composer Oliver Nikolas Schmid, who once again found invaluable support in his brother and lyricist Christopher Schmid. “The new material sounds fresh, wicked, surprising and more passionate than ever before. It’s also the second chapter with our singer Julian, who has inspired us and played a major part in the creation of the album,” Schmid continues. “We understand what he likes and have broken away from old thought patterns and ways of doing things. Never before have we been such a tight unit, always ready to expand our own sound. That’s precisely why ‘How To Shroud Yourself With Night’ has turned into our most spirited work by far.”

It’s an immense pleasure to have Julian on the Interview to talk on How To Shroud Yourself With Night and much more. Check out the awesome Julian on the YouTube video below.

01. Wall Of Gloom 4:21
02. A Cloak Woven Of Stars 3:38
03. Nebula 3:23
04. In A Lengthening Shadow 3:36
05. The Curtain Of White Silence 5:28
06. Unseen 3:52
07. The Vastness Of Infinity 4:08
08. To Disappear In You 3:53
09. An Invisible Beginning 3:51
10. Shroud Of Night 3:58

Music Videos

The Band

Julian Larre (Vocals)
Oliver Nikolas Schmid (Guitars)
Ilker Ersin (Bass)
Dominik Scholz (Drums)
Pictures: (c) Ntoy Photography

On Socials



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »