photo – Kate Demina

Progressive dark folk artist Marjana Semkina released her second solo LP – Sirin – on 31st May 2024.
Known for her work as the vocalist of prog duo Iamthemorning, Marjana has forged a successful solo career with two critically acclaimed solo releases: her 2020 debut solo album Sleepwalking, and 2021 follow up EP Disillusioned.
Like its predecessors, Sirin is a journey of dark stories and fairy tales, told with Marjana’s uniquely captivating voice, on a foundation of detailed musical arrangements. However, there is a prevailing darkness and grief running through Sirin, directly inspired by the ongoing war in Ukraine, which has had a profound impact on the Russian musician. 

Now permanently based in the UK, Marjana has been an active campaigner against the Russian occupation in Ukraine and has raised thousands of pounds via her activities to support the victims of war. She will continue her work, including selling a number of a limited run of handwritten lyrics from Sirin, with the money going to Ukrainian charities. Acts punishable by 15 years imprisonment should she return home.
Marjana is joined by an array of world class musicians (detailed below), which includes two very special guest vocal performances from Jim Grey (Caligula’s Horse) and Mick Moss (Antimatter).
Marjana has previously collaborated with many incredible artists, including The Flower KingsJordan RudessBlackbriar, as well as Anna Murphy with their Maer project. Combined with her work in Iamthemorning, her experiences have enabled her to become one of the most unique and exciting solo artists in the progressive world today. 

It was a great pleasure to have the amazing Marjana Semkina on the Interview to speak extensively on Sirin and much more behind the road she has travelled. Check out the complete coverage of the Interview on the below YouTube video.

01 We Are The Ocean 
02 Lost But At Peace   
03 Anything But Sleep (feat. Jim Grey)           
04 Pygmalion  
05 Angel Street           
06 Gone           
07 Death And The Maiden (feat. Mick Moss)  
08 The Storm  
09 Swan Song  
10 This Silence This Dreaming

Music Videos

Recording musicians:
Grigoriy Losenkov – piano, bass guitar, synths, drum programming
Vlad Avy – electric guitar, synths, drum programming
Keli Guðjónsson (Agent Fresco) – drums 
Charlie Cawood (Mediæval Bæbes, Knifeworld) – acoustic guitar, bouzouki, glockenspiel, hammered dulcimer, luiqin, guzheng
Liam McLaughlin (Sithu aye, iamthemorning) – electric guitar
Margarita Chernyshevskaya – 1st Violin 
Petr Chepelev  – 2nd Violin 
Julia Uliashcenkova – Viola 
Julia Romashko – Cello 

Follow Marjana On Socials


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »