Azusa + NPR Stream “Heavy Yoke” in Full — LISTEN — Album Out 11/16

Members of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Extol, and Sea + Air have joined creative forces as Azusa. The band’s debut album Heavy Yoke will be released onNovember 16 via Solid State Records in the U.S.

Heavy Yoke is currently streaming in full as a “First Listen” at NPR. Go here to enjoy the entire album, which NPR describes as “wrapped in rapturously beautiful discord,” from start to finish.

Uniting the complementary skills of its members, Azusa’s sound is a thrash-fusion tour de force. Can you imagine Kate Bush fronting Slayer? Death collaborating with Annette Peacock? These allegedly incongruent influences dissolve seamlessly in an alluring sonic alchemy.

Watch the music video for “Interstellar Islands” here.

The band partnered with Revolver to premiere the song “Heart of Stone.” Listen here.

Azusa and Heavy Consequence premiered the video for the title track. Watch + listen here.

1. “Interstellar Islands”
2. “Heart of Stone”
3. “Heavy Yoke”
4. “Fine Lines”
5. “Lost In the Ether”
6. “Spellbinder”
7. “Programmed to Distress”
8. “Eternal Echo”
9. “Iniquitous Spiritual Praxis”
10. “Succumb to Sorrow
11. “Distant Call”

Eleni Zafiriadou (Sea + Air) — Voice
Liam Wilson (The Dillinger Escape Plan) — Bass
Christer Espevoll (Extol) — Guitars
David Husvik (Extol) — Drums


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »