Costas Varras – Press Release

Costas Varras was born in Athens, Greece in 1983. He started playing the guitar at the age of 12 while he was studying both modern and classical music.

In 2000 he formed his first band “Perpetual” and started composing the material which was finally released as a debut album in 2004 by Sonic Age Records under the name of OVERLORD’S PERPETUAL.

That’s when he first met and worked with Bob Katsionis who played all the keyboards in the album. Right after the release of this CD, Costas moved to Hollywood to pursue his dream. After playing with local bands and graduating from Musician’s Institute and composing new material, in 2009 he entered the studio with legendary Chris Tsangarides as a recording & mixing engineer to record his sophomore album joined by drummer Fotis Benardo (Septic Flesh), Kevin Goocher (OMEN), Corvin Bahn (Uli Jon Roth).

But it was tragic fate who struck Costas, as he was diagnosed with a really serious illness and had to return to his homeland Athens and abandon these recordings leaving the album unfinished with sole “survivor”, the videoclip of the instrumental track “Hollywood After Midnight” shot in the streets of Hollywood by Costas’ now-long time friend Bob Katsionis.


In 2015 and after Bob’s encouragement, Costas started the re-recordings of the same album, enhanced by new material, new arrangements and a plethora of worldwide famous singers such as Henning Basse (Firewind, Mayan, ex-Sons Of Seasons etc), Chity Somapala (ex-Firewind, ex-Avalon), Kevin Gootcher (Omen), Billy Vass (Terra Incognita), Vaine Bodner andJoseph Michael (Witherfall).

Recorded, produced and mixed by Bob Katsionis at Sound Symmetry Studio, Athens and mastered by Nasos Nomikos at VU Productions, Piraeus (GR), “NEON-CLASSICAL” is the fourth official release of new-found SYMMETRIC RECORDS owned by Bob Katsionis.

According to Bob: “This album is a rare example of an old-school way of composing Heavy Metal music, but with a more modern approach, production-wise. Costas’s playing might be heavily influenced by Yngwie Malmsteen’s neoclassical style but it’s everything but a mindless shredfest; every song has something to say, there are personal stories and there’s the depression of a struggling musician who leaves his home to reach for the stars and then gets struck by fate, but still has the courage to stand on his feet and turn his experiences to notes and riffs.I’m really proud of this album and so happy to have helped a talented musician make this album come true.”


The first lyric video is for the track “RISE” featuring Chity Somapala is here:

You can stream and download/buy the album here:

Recording Line-up:

COSTAS VARRAS: All lead & rhythm guitars




Recorded & Mixed by Bob Katsionis at Sound Symmetry Studio, Athens (GR)

Mastered by Nasos Nomikos at VU Productions, Piraeus (GR)

Drums recorded at Mass Room Studio, Thessaloniki (GR)

Artwork and Photography by Bob Katsionis for PVG


  1. The Swedish King 02:45
  2. Rise (feat. Chity Somapala) 04:12
  3. Burning Bridges (feat. Henning Basse)
  4. Hollywood After Midnight
  5. Revenge (feat. Kevin Goocher)
  6. Neon-Classical
  7. Kayko
  8. Point Of No Return (feat. Vaine Bodner)
  9. Mighty Warrior (feat. Joseph Michael)
  10. Paganini On The Subway
  11. Freedom
  12. Fallen Hero (feat.Billy Vass)
  13. Till We Meet Again


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »