Over the last few months, critically acclaimed post-metal band EARTHRISE has introduced many to the tragic tale of Laika, the first animal sent into Earth’s orbit, with their captivating singles, “Our Work in the Stars Cannot Wait,” “From Below” and “The New Man.” Today, Laika’s full legacy unfolds with the release of the band’s long-awaited sophomore album, “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way.” 

Purchase “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way“: http://earthrisemn.bandcamp.com/
Stream “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way“: 
Apple Music – https://apple.co/3fXi12y
Spotify – https://spoti.fi/3EHY3U3
Youtube – https://youtu.be/zBkys7DD4tA

Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way frames vignettes into the life and times of Laika. Each track on ‘UWRBTWW’ represents a slice in history, as she endured it. The album culminates with the launch of Sputnik II, the second major event in humanity’s reach to the heavens, symbolized by a lifeless canine body orbiting the Earth for months on end — a somber meditation on humanity’s innumerable self-inflicted tragedies, as if stuck in orbit, forever. 

“‘Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way’ has been a long time in the making, spanning for each of us many major life events – some personal and some with global impact. The past decade of experiences has further cemented the themes we explore on the album in our hearts and minds. We’re incredibly thrilled to finally share this music and story with everyone and hope others can also find a connection to it.” – EARTHRISE

“Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way” Tracklisting:

  1. The New Man
  2. From Below
  3. Hypervigilant
  4. Generation Loss
  5. Our Work in the Stars Cannot Wait
  6. Prisoner’s Cinema
  7. Engineers of the Human Soul
  8. Void Hymn
  9. Tears of Burning Light

Described by MetalSucks as “heavy-as-elephant-balls post-NeurIsis-y metal with dreamy, atmospheric guitars and sickly, downtuned doom riffs,” Earthrise was founded in 2010 by bassist Andy Rutledge, drummer Jimmy Neumann and guitarist Mike Britson (Former Worlds) who released their acclaimed debut, “Eras Lost,” in 2012. With the recent additions of Jim Schloemer on synth and Sam Halvorson on vocals, the band has emerged from a 10 year hiatus to release their cosmic followup “Until We Rest Beneath the Winter Way” – a 71-minute proggy, crushingly heavy, space rock meets post metal behemoth.



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »