Delivering a tasteful blend of old-school doom/death-laden metal and dark, gothic rock, Denmark’s EMPIRE DROWNS is finally ready with the release of their debut album following the 2013 EP “Bridges”. 

The first song to be known from the upcoming record is “Purity”, a long and captivating dirge featuring all the trademarks that put Empire Drowns in the map of every doom/death metal fan ten years ago. Early Nineties doom/death metal inspired by Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride & Anathema beautifully performed by a band featuring members and ex-members from Withering Surface, A Sun Traverse, Saturnus & Urkraft.

Empire Drowns’ debut album will be released in the Fall of 2022.

“Purity” is out today in digital single format. Stream it and download it here. The song is also available in a lyric video.

Thomas Birk – guitars
Kim Jørgensen – drums
Anders Ro Nielsen – keys
Marco Angioni – bass
Michael Hvolgaard Andersen – vocals

Digital single:



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »