EVILE Premieres Charging New Single “Reap What You Sow”

Metal Frontrunners EVILE Unleash Lyric Video for Charging New Album Single, “Reap What You Sow”

Watch the New Video for “Reap What You Sow” HERE

New Album, The Unknown, out July 14, 2023 via Napalm Records

[photo by Steve Dutton]

Following their latest, critically acclaimed album, Hell Unleashed (2021), July 14, 2023 sees England’s metal masters EVILE strike again with their sixth full-length record, entitled The Unknown,via Napalm Records!

Today, EVILE have unleashed a lyric video for their vigorous new album single, “Reap What You Sow” – a hammering world of sound that builds up to a stomping thrash manifesto! 

Frontman OL Drake offers:
“The second single from The Unknown is “Reap What You Sow” – a more up-tempo riff-fest. Without wanting to share too much about this track’s personal meaning, this song is about hypocrisy; someone saying not to do something, then they do it themselves. I gave Ingo, the lyric video director, no direction other than the lyrics, so the video is his own interpretation of the song. There’s a down-picking riff challenge in the middle section of the song. Enjoy!”

Since their formation in 2002, EVILE have turned heads and taken names, delivering pure thrash offerings blended with an uncompromising metal assault. Not only have the band played a notable role as the thrash metal resurgence movement of the mid-to-late 2000s, but as Kerrang! praised, they have “carried the genre’s whole ‘revival’ on their shoulders.”

This time, EVILE prove that they are more than just a thrash band, churning out slower tempos with a heavier approach. In addition, melodic vocals meet serious, in-depth lyrical topics – ranging from depression, overcoming loss and recurring nightmares, self-esteem and image, to more personal themes like living with dementia, struggling through the music industry and even the concerns of becoming a new parent – showcased on tracks such as the previously-released first single and album title track “The Unknown”

On The UnknownEVILE are more profound, personal and deep, while also proving heavier, stronger and more raucous than ever! Songs such as “The Unknown” showcase the band’s haunting elements and the stirring, “new” side of EVILE, balancing a dark, melodic and almost mesmerizing vibe with colossal, heavy riffage and thundering drums. While EVILE still stays true to their explosive trademarks and roots, they leave nothing but a hammering new world of sound, building up to a stomping thrash manifesto. The Unknown unchains the rampant songwriting talent of these British thrash metal frontrunners, proving that thrash does not always have to be fast-paced. It can also be in-your-face with outstanding musical skill, without fear of showing a still unknown facet of lyrical depth and an enthralling, versatile, brave modern metal sound! 

Pre-Order The Unknown NOW:

OL Drake adds:
“We’re really excited to start revealing the next page in the Evile chapter.We’ve taken a completely different approach on this album and I looked inward for inspiration; I’ve opened myself up like I never thought I would. We’ve always been at 500mph, like on the previous album (Hell Unleashed) and this time around we felt we wanted to try the polar opposite – some slower-than-we’ve-ever-done tempos with more melodic vocal hooks, and give Adam some freedom on the leads/writing. I’ve been working on my vocals since diving in the deep end in 2021, and we’ve worked hard for 2 years on this, so I’m excited for everyone to hear the fruits of our labour. We’re really proud of what we’ve all accomplished with this album. This is the one I hope can catapult us to more ears and places we haven’t been before to play for people who are constantly asking us to play in their area.”

The Unknown was recorded by Tim Vincent at Longwave Studios, Cardiff UK, and was produced, mixed and mastered by Chris Clancy at the same Longwave Studios.

The Unknown track listing:
1. The Unknown
2. The Mask We Wear
3. Monolith
4. When Mortal Coils Shed
5. Sleepless Eyes
6. Out of Sight
7. At Mirror’s Speech
8. Reap What You Sow
9. Beginning of the End
10. Balance of Time

The Unknown will be available in the following formats:
– 1CD Digipak
– 1-LP Gatefold Black Vinyl
– Digipak + Shirt
– 1-LP Gatefold Crystal Clear
– 1-LP Gatefold Solid Red (UK only)
– Digital Album

EVILE UK Live Dates:
13.10.23 – The Arch, Brighton
14.10.23 – Arts Centre, Colchester 
03.11.23 – The Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes
10.11.23 – The Bread Shed, Manchester 
11.11.23 – Devils Dog, Birmingham
17.11.23 – La Belle Angele, Edinburgh 
18.11.23 – Corporation, Sheffield
01.12.23 – The Hairy Dog, Derby
02.12.23 – The Bunkhouse, Swansea
08.12.23- Suburbia, Southampton
09.12.23 – New Cross Inn, London
with many more shows to be announced soon!

EVILE online:

OL Drake – Vocals & Lead Guitar 
Ben Carter – Drums 
Joel Graham – Bass 
Adam Smith – Rhythm Guitar