Leaving Spirit – Things Change

Album Review By Rainer Kerber

Southern Rock has its roots in the southern states of the United States. One immediately thinks of the Allman Brothers Band or Lynyrd Skynyrd. But also Blackberry Smoke or currently the Allman Betts Band. Southern Rock is also played in southern Germany. Leaving Spirit comes from Würzburg (Lower Franconia). The band was founded in 2016. The musicians are between 17 and 21 years old. Other role models include Neil Young, Whiskey Myers and ZZ Top. So, it is clear that influences of country and blues rock can be heard in the songs. One and a half years the sextet worked on the debut. Since the beginning of August, the result is available, the album “Things Change”.

Even with “Stranger On The Road” can enjoy the smoky-sounding voice of Paula Frecot. Fits to rocking guitars. This is more of a classic rock song. It is clear to hear that the band is working with three guitarists. That made for powerful sound. “Mississippi Bridge” sounds much more obvious to Southern Rock. One feel displaced in a saloon of the American South. Country and Western Style present the Franks on “Free In My Mind”. That’s the sound of freedom and adventure. For this, a video was produced. And so it goes on with a lot of variety. Sometimes bluesy (“Both Of Us”), then again with beautiful country sounds (“The Girl On The Train”). Again, and again you can hear the slide guitar that characterizes this genre. Example complacent? Just listen in “Always The Same”. And then there are again straight rockers like “Old Lady”. Here, Paula obviously sings in a duet with bandmate Florian Eppel. Another highlight is “Red Leaves”. I love the bluesy harmonica. And these can be heard more than enough on this quiet song. Finally Leaving Spirit with “Dead Lie” and the bouncer “Keep Rockin ‘Alive” are going to rock again.

I confess I am in a dilemma. Only a few weeks ago I would have called “Things Change” as an outstanding Southern Rock album. But recently, I rated the debut of the Allman Betts Band (“Down To The River”). And so, the Franks must now be measured. They do not (yet) have the quality of the big Southern Rock bands. And “Things Change” is not a thoroughbred Southern Rock album either. Also, various rock, blues and folk influences are incorporated into the overall sound. Despite everything, it can be said that Leaving Spirit has released a good debut album. The music is fun from start to finish. I would like to have more of that, not only on CD but also live.

Leaving Spirit – Free in My Mind: https://youtu.be/Ewktk6hPCk0


Paula Frecot – Vocals, Mandolin
Florian Eppel – Guitar, Vocals, Lapsteel, Dobro, Bluesharp
Leo Kürschner – Guitar
Anton Bohne – Guitar
Linus Glaesemer – Bass
Felix Möser – Drums

Label: Screeech Rec.

Out: August 2nd, 2019

Playing time: 46:57

Track list:

  • Stranger On The Road
  • Mississippi Bridge
  • Free In My Mind
  • Reflections
  • Both Of Us
  • The Girl On The Train
  • Always The Same
  • Fake
  • Old Lady
  • Red Leaves
  • Moonshine
  • Dead Lie
  • Keep Rockin’ Alive

Rating : 8/10

MHF Magazine/Rainer Kerber


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »