Lonely Robot launch ‘Digital God Machine’; third single taken from new album ‘A Model Life’

Photo credit: Tom Barnes

Lonely Robot, the project masterminded by vocalist, guitarist & producer John Mitchell, are set to release their fifth studio album ‘A Model Life’ on August 26th,2022. With just a few days till release, a video for the album’s third single ‘Digital God Machine’ has been launched. Watch it now here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-kGWnT86rk

John comments: “It’s the internet age people! And with every computer connected to it comes a free opinion. For some reason, the world of progressive rock fandom bears down on the timid musician struggling to make his way with the weight of said opinion. Said fandom LIKES and values it’s own opinion with much aplomb and shares it with alarming regularity from the bravery of great distance and safety. Thus is born the ‘Digital God Machine’.”
Watch the previously released video for ‘Recalibrating’ here: https://youtu.be/YvdqPJ0NVTk
Watch the video for ‘The Island of Misfit Toys’ here: https://youtu.be/mgVfWL-Qt7E

An album that brims with frustration at the state of things, while tugging remorselessly at the heart strings, A Model Life is plainly the most honest and vulnerable Lonely Robot record to date. From opener Recalibrating, which muses on the aftermath of a broken relationship, and Digital God Machine – a sardonic tribute to keyboard warriors everywhere, to the boys-don’t-cry pathos of Rain Kings and the absurdly moving, adoption-themed Duty Of Care, these new songs provide a scattershot but profoundly emotional soundtrack to a restless and uncertain world.

John comments: “Making ‘A Model Life’ was very much a lifeline and indeed wake up call at the end of a particularly personally challenging couple of years. Creating it made me realise that ultimately, life is impermanent and the one true thing that gives me a focus and anchor is and has always been music. Long may that be the case.”

The album will be available as Limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP+CD & as Digital Album. Pre-order now here: https://LonelyRobot.lnk.to/AModelLife

The full track-listing is as follows:
1.    Recalibrating    00:05:02
2.    Digital God Machine    00:06:08
3.    Species In Transition    00:06:19
4.    Starlit Stardust    00:05:48
5.    The Island Of Misfit Toys    00:04:18
6.    A Model Life    00:05:27
7.    Mandalay    00:01:56
8.    Rain Kings    00:06:33
9.    Duty Of Care    00:06:24
10.    In Memoriam    00:05:53

A lone soldier on the frontlines of creativity, John Mitchell has been at the forefront of forward-thinking and progressive rock for decades now. As a member of such revered prog ensembles as It Bites, Arena, Frost* and his own projects Kino and The Urbane, he has become a uniquely vital contributor to the modern scene, while his credentials as a producer for countless contemporary rock acts are unquestionable. But since 2015, John has been operating under name Lonely Robot: a solo project in all but name, it has enabled him to fully express his own musical vision, via some of the most vivid and fascinating music of his career to date.


Spotify – Prog Rock Playlist


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »