Inspired by gloomy, sad and fantasy-fueled themes, the band paints an ominous soundscape using modern elements such as massive, low-pitched guitars and dark shades of electronic music.

“The album has been in the works in one form or another for the last 2-3 years, during which close to a hundred demo songs were written. When we finally felt that it was time to put together one binding piece from all the material, we decided on the 13 best ones and started the process to properly record and produce the album”, says the band’s guitarist and producer Jörg-Erik Hanikat.

Lyrically, the listener is encouraged to engage in a philosophical dialogue with oneself, dissecting topics such as existential burdens, social awareness, and human nature. “Often, ÆØNS’s lyrical style is more open-ended and does not have a strictly laid out meaning to each song, allowing the listener to make their own interpretation of the words and find a connection that best translates to their own life experience,” says vocalist Iisak Pilli.

“When writing music and different parts, I try to bring in elements from other styles that are not necessarily the first idea in metal that would come to mind,” says drummer Robert Leht.

“We are very excited to be able to present our first album and leave our mark in the Estonian metal scene,” says Martin Randalu, the band’s second guitarist. “We are definitely not going to slow down, as work on newer material has actually already started some time ago.”

The band will also be performing in this year’s Tallinn Music Week festival, which will take place on October 1 at the Von Krahl Theater. Ticket information:

1. Into the Rotten Unknown
2. Loose Ends
3. Deathwaves
4. Ghost Helix
5. Few And Far Between
6. Worry Carries The Heavy Blade
7. Sunless Seas
8. Leviathan
9. Visions
10. Gray Sky
11. Hollow Saint
12. In Transience
13. Conflux Eternal

Contact / Social media:


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »