Montreal’s DERELICT Embrace Inclusivity With Single For “Spectrum” Off New Album “Versus Entropy” Out End of June 2024

L-R – Eric Burnet – Vocals, Guitar, Max Lussier – Guitar, Vocals, Sébastien Pittet – Bass, Tommy McKinnon – Drums

Montreal, Canada’s Derelict, the brutal melodic technical death metal band known for their intense musicality and thought-provoking themes, is back with their next single “Spectrum” off their upcoming album “Versus Entropy”. This track marks a significant stylistic departure for the band, blending their signature death metal sound with southern metal and blues influences. The band shares their thoughts on the track:

“This is a call of allegiance to anyone who has been made to feel lesser than because of the expression of their identity, gender, sexuality, or personality in general. Nobody gets to tell you how to be, and we’ll stand for that. How you treat others is the determination of your worth.”

The band continues to explain that Southern metal often has this tough guy vibe about it, and although they enjoy a lot of that stuff, that’s not the kind of feeling or message they have ever wanted to convey themselves as artists. So they came up with the idea of writing a song about the acceptance of alternative masculinities, essentially a celebration of the different kinds of men that exist and how it’s OK to just be who you are.

The track showcases the collaborative songwriting approach of Eric Burnet and guitarist Max Lussier, who together created a song that merges southern swagger with Derelict‘s trademark brutality. It is recommended for fans of Allegeon, Decapitated, and Death.

Listen to “Spectrum” via its premiere on NoCleanSinging HERE.

Due out on June 21st, 2024, the album “Versus Entropy” is available for pre-order –

Previous Single / Title Track – “Versus Entropy” –

(Album Artwork byCate Francis)

Track Listing:
1. Versus Entropy – (4:32)
2. Infinite Dread – (4:23)
3. Terminal – (4:02)
4. Workhorse – (3:00)
5. Attunement – (5:05)
6. Dans les Dents – (2:23)
7. Spectrum – (3:59)
8. Derelict – (4:11)
9. The Escapist – (4:15)
Album Length 35:50

More info: | | | Spotify


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »