Heavy Hypnotic Rock Masters MY SLEEPING KARMA Celebrate Album Release with Stunning Music Video!

New Album, Atma, out NOW on Napalm Records | Purchase HERE

Watch the music video for new album single, Avatara, HERE

[ photo: Ingo Spörl / Hard Media ]

Closing a seven-year gap since their latest studio album, Moksha, today, heavy hypnotic rock act MY SLEEPING KARMA celebrates their brand new album, entitled Atma, out now on Napalm Records.

From the album’s first tone, it’s immediately evident that Atma isn’t just another new MY SLEEPING KARMA record – it’s an infinite darkness, despair and sadness that furiously drives the German four-piece on studio album number six, marking the band’s darkest, most emotional and deep record to date.

In celebration of today’s release, MY SLEEPING KARMA have shared a new music video for the otherworldly single ‘Avatara’, which shines in synth post-rock grandeur that bridges majestic, exotic texture and mesmerizing dynamics!

Drummer Steffen states:
“As many other sanskrit words Avatara has also several corresponding meanings. Avatara means the descent, the coming down, like the appearance itself. But it could also be used to describe an opportunity or the coming to light. In this sense Avatara is the perfect word to reveal our new album “Atma” and bring this finally to light.”

As many artists have experienced, the past two years hit the entire music and culture industry hard. But MY SLEEPING KARMA – they have truly faced the abyss. Formed almost 20 years ago as a strong bond of best friends with a steady line-up ever since, the band has amassed an incredibly successful back catalog of five highly acclaimed records and a live album in 2017, as well as extensive touring performances at sold-out venues and prestigious festivals that have marked them as one of the most well-respected instrumental post- and hypnotic rock bands within the heavy music community.

Atma describes the (absolute) self, the indestructible, eternal essence of the spirit, and is often translated as the “soul”. Sickness, death, and existential fear had brought the band to a point in music and life at which they were close to parting ways. But their will to survive has been recorded on Atma – a record the band wasn’t even sure would see the light of day when they started working on it back in 2017, and if it did, would’ve never been for industry sales, fame or success. Atma tells the story of their lives, processing the trauma of personal tragedies, deepest pain and fear of four best friends that have been going through their darkest days since their band existence.

Most of the six new album tracks near the 10-minute mark and excel in distinctive MY SLEEPING KARMA fashion – from crystal clear intros bursting into bittersweet melodies of vulnerable beauty to imposing soundspheres of mesmerizing heaviness with entrancing undercurrents. As Monster Magnet’s Dave Wyndorf once said, MY SLEEPING KARMA is ART – but their new, cathartic record not only captures the zeitgeist of the times, but leaves a little light for hope, love, beauty and strength amid all the ugly facets of our vulnerable lives.

“We´ve put a lot of time, effort and love into it and we are finally very happy it´s done,” The band says.“If you listen closely and open hearted, you might be able to hear and feel the sadness, the pain we´ve went throught. But more than ever there is also lots of hope, happiness and love. 

This is one of the most important sentences the mental world repeats constantly since many years. “Every human being has always to choose between the two main emotions: Fear or Love.”  So everybody should choose carefully as this decision(s) defines who you are.

We really hope this album is able spread some positiv vibes, a bit of hope and – most improtant – love! Because in the end love is everything exists.

Much Love
Norman, Seppi, Matte, Steffen”

Order Atma HERE

Atma was produced, recorded and mixed by drummer Steffen Weigand at New Life Studios, and was mastered by Andreas Balaskas at Masterlab Studios in Berlin. The incredible album artwork has been created by Sebastian Jerke.

Atma track listing:
1. Maya Shakti
2. Prema
3. Mukti
4. Avatara
5. Pralaya
6. Ananda

Atma is available now in the following formats:
– Digisleeve CD Edition
– 1LP Gatefold Black & 12 Page Booklet
– 1LP Gatefold & 12 Page Booklet GOLD LTD 300 Copies
– Vinyl Hardcover Book (1LP Gatefold CLEAR plus 10″ Vinyl CLEAR (2 Bonus Tracks) – 48 Page Booklet LTD 500 Copies
– Digisleeve CD Edition & Canvas Edition (Napalm EU Only)
– Digisleeve CD Edition & Shirt (Napalm EU Only)
– Digital

Matte – Bass
Seppi – Guitar
Steffen – Drums
Norman – Soundboard  



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »