NOVARUPTA: Decibel Magazine Debuts “Ourang Medan” From Blackened Sludge Project Uniting Current/Past Members Of The Moth Gatherer, Dark Tranquillity, Entombed, Domkraft, And More; Disillusioned Fire Preorders Available

“…moody sludge that rolls in waves of intensity…” — Decibel
Stream / Share NOVARUPTA “Ourang Medan” At THIS LOCATION
Disillusioned Fire is the forthcoming debut from NOVARUPTA, the blackened sludge metal project spear-headed by Alex Stjernfeldt (The Moth Gatherer, Mr. Death et al).
Following his departure from The Moth Gatherer, Stjernfeldt stood disillusioned while facing an uncertain and bleak future. Fueled by depression and frustration and a need to explore a deeper and darker musical direction while also returning to the roots from which he came, the foundation ofNOVARUPTA was born.
Blurring the lines between Band and Project, Collective and Art, NOVARUPTA was manifested. With themes of living with depression, society, and a world veiled in monochrome colors and trying to turn something destructive into something creative, the music and art took form. The creation of the debut was a collective effort between old and new friends, coming together in an open and creative forum, contributing to what was to become Disillusioned Fire.
The record features a host of notable vocalists including Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity), Jörgen Sandström (Krux, ex-Entombed, ex-Grave.), Martin Wegeland (Domkraft), Tomas Liljedahl (ex-Breach, The Old Wind), Claudio Marino (Tid), Joel Segerstedt (The Open Up And Bleeds), Jonas A. Holmberg (This Gift Is A Curse), and Ossian Reynolds (Lola Zaza), each adding his own dark tinge to a record wrought with deep, dismal emotion.
In advance of its April release, Decibel is streaming closing psalm “Ourang Medan” featuring Martin Wegeland noting, “Stjernfeldt and Wegeland navigate through moody sludge that rolls in waves of intensity; Wegeland’s melodic vocals aren’t as extreme as some of the other contributions on the EP, but they successfully guide ‘Ourang Medan’ through melodic waters, ending the EP on a high and memorable note.”
Adds Stjernfeldt, “The song ‘Ourang Medan’ is like the ship; a haunting journey into the unknown! A long, painful, and eerie travel. Let your mind flow free in the freezing winds into the obscure.”
Hear “Ourang Medan” courtesy of Decibel Magazine at THIS LOCATION.
NOVARUPTA‘s Disillusioned Fire was mixed by Kristoffer Folin (Domkraft), by Karl Daniel Lidén (Terra Tenebrosa, Greenleaf, Crippled Black Phoenix) and comes swathed in the cover renderings of Arjen Kunnen (Amenra). The record will be releases on April 29th on CD, LP, and digitally via Suicide Records.
For preorders visit the Suicide Records’ Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION where first single, “Pyroclastic Flows,” featuring Jörgen Sandström, can also be streamed.
Disillusioned Fire Track Listing:
1. Stones (feat. Tomas Liljedahl)
2. Pyroclastic Flows (feat. Jörgen Sandström)
3. Tumskruvar (feat. Claudio Marino, Joel Segerstedt, Ossian Reynolds)
4. Mare Tranquillitatis (feat. Mikael Stanne)
5. Only The Dirt Will Know Our Graves (feat. Jonas A. Holmberg)
6. Ourang Medan (feat. Martin Wegeland)


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »