NYC post-punk veterans BLACKLIST share brand new single “Pathfinder”; new album to be released October 28th on Profound Lore Records!

[Photo: Scott Irvine]

After New York post-punk/dark rock veterans Blacklist recently unleashed the brand new single “The Final Resistance”, today more details about the band’s upcoming second album have been released. “Afterworld” will be out on October 28th via Profound Lore Records and marks the band’s first album in thirteen long years. Featuring ten brand new tracks packed with the band’s captivating and distinctive sound, “Afterworld” seamlessly picks up where its critically acclaimed predecessor “Midnight of the Century” (2009) left off: Powerful and dark anthems, blending elements of shoegaze and heavy metal with coldwave in a fluid motion. Thematically, the upcoming album explores the possible meanings of love in a time of political and environmental collapse, and with the track “Pathfinder”, the band has given another glimpse of their soon-to-be-released album. 

Joshua Strachan comments:

In the summer of 2021, we met up with no demos, no preconceived notions of what or how we would write. At least nothing beyond the vague question I’d had in the back of my mind, “What if a band like Blacklist did what Iron Maiden did with ‘Somewhere In Time’ and made a guitar synth record?” We got a Meris Enzo pedal, a lot of tequila, and went into Glenn’s basement to see what would happen. 

We ended up writing the basic parts for four songs that weekend, one of which was ‘Pathfinder.’ Musically I feel it has a lot of spiritual similarity to old school Blacklist songs like “Dawn of the Idols” and “Julie Speaks” with Glenn doing a sort of tribal drum thing and Ryan chugging away on a very propulsive bass riff. Lyrically, though, it really reflects what I feel is the most significant break from older Blacklist material. The lyrics are searching, yearning. They communicate vulnerability and uncertainty. 

He continues:

I think it’s really reflective of where we are and who we are now. It’s Blacklist through and through, it’s the sound of charging forward into a fucked up world, it’s about human connection, and that really encapsulates what we’ve always been about. 

Tracklist reads as follows:
01. Fires Of Black November
02. The Final Resistance
03. Nightbound
04. No Good Answers
05. Behind The Veil Of The Living World
06. Pathfinder
07. Scarlet Horizon
08. A Stranger In This Century
09. In Shadow Light
10. Lovers In Mourning

“Afterworld” was produced by Joshua Strachan at Primal Architecture Studio, Appalachia, VA and mixed by Sanford Parker (Darkthrone, Yob, BLOODYMINDED). The album will be coming out in CD/LP/DIGITAL formats and is now available for pre-order at THIS LOCATION


Joshua Strachan: Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer, Saxophone
Ryan Rayhill: Bass
Glenn Maryansky: Electronic and Acoustic Drums
James Minor: Guitar
Chad Dziewior: Guitar

For more info visit:


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »