Orchestral Metal Ensemble OPUS ARISE Offer A Glimpse Into A Detailed Electronic World In “Reminiscence”

New Album “The Network” Out December 2nd

L-R – Derek Ho – Cello (live only), Matthew Logan – Drums, Violin II, Ellen Smith – Viola, Michelle Gao – Violin I, Kyle Hagen, Shawn Hillman – Guitar, Cello, Matthew Hannah – Keyboards
Photo Credit Jade Weekes

Vancouver, Canada’s Opus Arise (ft. members of Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, Ysgaroth) is an orchestral metal ensemble that brings together classical strings and metal rhythms to create luscious soundscapes to dissonant chaos. They are about to drop their second album this winter, entitled “The Network”, which will send listeners headfirst into a cyberpunk world where frequencies and chord progressions are believed to be catalysts for time travel. Although there are no lyrics, the theme is easy to pick up on, as the tension, the relief, and the drama of the story are within. The second single to be bestowed upon listeners is “Reminiscence”, where the album departs from the chaotic nature of the cyberpunk city into nature. It starts with a chamber-esque intro that leads to progressive grooves and ultimately back to the dark nature of the album. The band comments on the album:

“After many years that seemed like forever, we’re extremely excited to release our follow-up “The Network”. Thanks to the experience and wisdom of Maor Appelbaum, we’re very stoked that we brought the album to what it needed to be after much trial and error. We hope everyone will enjoy this journey through this Cyberpunk-inspired world!”

Compared to their previous album “Revelation” (2016), their compositions have become less metal driven and they have grown the string section from a trio to a quintet and are planning to incorporate more orchestral instruments. The nine members play guitar, cello, drums, keyboards, violin, viola, bass, and contrabass on eight tracks that clock in at just over forty minutes. They plunge the listener into a wild and intricate world that is easy to interpret and get lost in.

Opus Arise’s instrumental music is inspired by life experiences, classical symphonies, and movie and video game soundtracks. It is recommended for fans of The Black Mages, Liquid Tension Experiment, and Powerglove.

The music video for “Reminiscence” can be seen and heard via its premiere on Bravewords HERE

Album pre-order – https://opusarise.bandcamp.com
Music Video – Inner Skepticism – https://youtu.be/MGW5MWi_F5g

Track Listing:
1) Inner Skepticism – 5:50
2) Electric Jungle – 6:02
3) Antimatter – 3:22
4) Digital Soundscape – 4:38
5) Reminiscence – 5:21
6) Change – 5:23
7) Timeshift – 5:21
8) The Unanswered Question – 5:13
Album Length: 41:13

Album Band Lineup:
Shawn Hillman Guitar, Cello on “Digital Soundscape”
James Readman: Guitar
Daniel Carmago: Bass Guitar (Tracks 1-3, 5-7)
Matthew Logan: Drums, Violin II
Matthew Hannah: Keyboards
Michelle Gao: Violin I
Ellen Smith: Viola
Darrell Bennett: Cello
Kyle Hagen: Contrabass, Bass Guitar (Track 8)

For more info:


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »