Prog-Metal Heavyweights IVANHOE Present New Video
Single, “Headnut”, Of Upcoming Studio Album
“Healed By The Sun”!

[photo: Uli Lack]

May 10, 2024 sees progressive metal veterans IVANHOE release their much-awaited, new album, “Healed By The Sun” via Massacre Records. Available as CD Digipak, Ltd. Vinyl LP and Digital formats, the pre-sale has just recently started at

After the band assigned “One Ticket To Paradise” with their latest, first album single, today, IVANHOE present us a second track taken of “Healed By The Sun”! A lyric video for “Headnut” is premiering below, the song is out now on all digital streaming providers at:

“Headnut” describes the psychological burden of COVID, from the restrictions caused by lockdowns, the uncertainty in dealing with governments as well as the psychological consequences and how we deal with them. We weep for the victims while “the beast” roams hungrily around the globe. Our dreams and plans fall short and we see them burning like a light (candle). (As in “Healed By The Sun”, the light is again manifested as hope and healing, which is solidified in the album’s title),” says new IVANHOE member, guitarist Chris Lorey.

Musically, “Headnut” is one of the heavier, faster and more profound songs on the album and explores new paths. It’s more metal than progressive but still features the typical IVANHOE riffing. Chris already worked on this song when he was not yet part of the band.

Although “Healed By The Sun” introduces new band members Chris Lorey and drummer Mathias Biehl, the songwriting process turned out to be a journey back to the roots of the band. Revisiting all previous IVANHOE albums, according to the band, yet the songs on “Healed By The Sun” are catchier and more accessible, and the compositions more sophisticated. Their ninth studio offering was produced by Giovanni Soulas and Lorey, and was mixed and mastered by Andy Horn at The Red Room Studios. The cover artwork was created by Michael Krebes.

1. Daybreak
2. Healed By The Sun
3. Headnut
4. Moments In Time
5. Goodbye
6. Small Path Home
7. Invictus
8. Picture In My Mind (Bonus Track)
9. One Ticket To Paradise
10. War Of Ages
11. 10C
12. Broken Illusions
13. Awaiting Judgement Day (Re-recorded) – CD Bonus Track

For More Info Visit:

Alex Koch – Vocals
Chris Lorey – Guitars
Gio Soulas – Bass
Richie Seibel – Keyboards
Mathias Biehl – Drums


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »