Pyrexia announce new album and release single

‘Pawn to King’ video streaming now

Gravitas Maximus album out 10th December via Unique Leader Records

Brutal death metal pioneers Pyrexia have unveiled their lead single, ‘Pawn to King’, from their upcoming album Gravitas Maximus, due out on 10th December via Unique Leader

Watch the video to ‘Pawn to King’ here:

Pre-order Gavitas Maximus here:

On the album announcement, guitarist Chris Basile comments: “When you write an album like Sermon of Mockery, it’s like Moby Dick with this giant whale that you have to conquer. I spent over two decades throwing harpoons and missing every time. Gravitas Maximus goes right through the heart of the whale and kills it dead. Along with everything else.”

Legendary brutal death metallers Pyrexia return with new album Gravitas Maximus. Now entering their fourth decade, the quintet return heavier and stronger than ever, proving once again to be one the most important forces in extreme music.

Gravitas Maximus was recorded at Chapel Sound Recording Studios, aka “The Chapel”, Long Island, New York by Chris Basile, and mixed and mastered by Miguel Teresso at Demigod Recording Studio, Portugal.

In 1987 guitarist Chris Basile joined the band Mortuary along with Terrence HobbsDoug Cerrito and Mike Smith, all of Suffocation. Together over 30 songs were written by the band with many of the songs and riffs written during this period appearing on both Pyrexia and Suffocation’s early releases leading too many comparisons.

In 1990 Basile met with Guy Marchais,Rob Shimonski, Daryl Wagner and Mike Andrejko and Pyrexia wasformed. They went on to release their 1991 demo Liturgy of Impurity and later the classic 1993 full-length Sermon of Mockery, cementing their place in the anoles of death metal history.

Pyrexia continued to release one seminal release after another including their 1997 System of the Animal, and even joining forces with Trevor Peres of Obituary in 2001 to form the band Catastrophic, which went on to release their debut album The Cleansing on Metal Blade records.

In 2006 Pyrexia signed with Unique Leader records and began an extensive campaign of touring and performing both in America and overseas under the UL moniker. A tradition that continues today with no end in sight.

Pyrexia are:
Chris Basile – Guitars
Shaun Kennedy – Bass
Jim Beach – Vocals
Danny Trapani – Guitars
John Glassbrenner – Drums

Pyrexia online:


1. We are Many
2. Apostles to the Grave
3. The Day the Earth Shook ( Survival of the Fittest )
4. Pawn to King
5.The Art of Infamy
6. Rule of 2
7. Bludgeoned by Deformity
8. Gravitas Maximus


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »