Scattered Storm Embark On A Journey With Title Track Off Upcoming “In this Dying Sun”

New EP “In this Dying Sun” Out Nov 11th via Bloodblast Distribution (powered by Nuclear Blast and Believe Digital)

L- R – Jay Arriaga – Drums, Keyboards, Samples, Andre Accosta – Vocals, Kevin Armstrong – Guitar, Brian Fausnaugh – Bass

The progressively dark quartet Scattered Storm hailing from El Paso, Texas, is releasing their second EP “In this Dying Sun” set for November 11th. The EP pivots from its overall sound carving out a much darker, and more progressive tone. Drummer Jay Arriaga and guitarist Kevin Armstrong have been much of the driving force for the songwriting drawing inspiration from bands like Psycroptic and Cephalic Carnage, whom they have also performed live with. The band explains the premise of the single:

“This pretty much talks about our dying planet. Or even a dying galaxy. Which resonates deeply with what we have been doing to our planet for so long and the consequences of that. Death, decay, nothing good coming out of it really. In the absence of light, there is only darkness. The song is fast and precise almost Fear Factoryish-like, but it simulates a fast and imploding galaxy.”

According to the band, they have never lost track of the bigness, especially with Tue Madsen mixing this record. In their talks with him, it was really emphasized that even though songs are faster, they still want them to sound huge. In turn, Madsen delivered a monster of an album, a melodic wall of sound with plenty of intriguing layers to keep listeners on their toes. Madsen also featured “In This Dying Sun” for his drum sample pack through Drum Forge because he really dug the song.

“In This Dying Sun” takes off from where last year’s “Oblivion” left off, bringing in darker melodies and proggy riffs. It still has the hooks but the vocals have evolved more and the synths took a back step for more guitar work. Some of the songs are faster-paced as well giving it a more driving force.

Scattered Storm takes a good blend of the sludge from Meshuggah, the ambiance of Tesseract, and the epicness of Devin Townsend, but is also influenced by bands like Fear Factory and Mnemic.

The music video for the single “In This Dying Sun” can be seen and heard at

The EP “In This Dying Sun” comes out on November 11, 2022, via Bloodblast Distribution (powered by Nuclear Blast and Believe Digital).

“Bloody Love” –

Digital –

Track Listing:
1. Bloody Love – 4:44
2. The Process – 3:49
3. Hollow – 4:16
4. In this Dying Sun – 3:42
5. Seen – 4:49
EP Length: 21:12

Recording and Live Band Lineup:
Jay Arriaga – Drums, Keyboards, Samples
Kevin Armstrong – Guitar
Brian Fausnaugh – Bass
Andre Accosta – Vocals

For more info:

Scattered Storm is an El Paso, Texas-based metal band which formed three years ago with the collaboration between Jay Arriaga (drums) from No Life on Earth, Years of Cold, and Kevin Armstrong (guitar) from Mondoshawan, Section 6. From there Andre Acosta from Pissing Razors, Hereafter the Wave and current No Life on Earth frontman joined the ranks on vocals. Having recorded a couple of songs on Bass for both Oblivion and In This Dying Sun, Brian Fausnaugh (Random Allusion, Limerance) finally joined the ranks full time replacing Eddie Garcia on bass. Scattered Storm recorded In This Dying Sun in 2021 at Javier’s Studio Empty Paradise Studios for its release on November 11th, 2022 via Blood Blast Distribution to follow their 2021 debut EP “Oblivion”.


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »